Warning: include() [function.include]: URL file-access is disabled in the server configuration in /home/avsforum/archive.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/history/archive_functions.php on line 31

Warning: include(http://archive.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/history/header.php) [function.include]: failed to open stream: no suitable wrapper could be found in /home/avsforum/archive.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/history/archive_functions.php on line 31

Warning: include() [function.include]: Failed opening 'http://archive.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/history/header.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/local/lib/php') in /home/avsforum/archive.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/history/archive_functions.php on line 31
Pages:1

Why hack Tivo?

(Click here to view the original thread with full colors/images)

Posted by: scheinz

I am new to the foum. I followed directions and replaced my directv tivo with two 160 gig hardrives. It works great. I got so excited that I started looking through the tivo hacks to see if there was any neat stuff to do with my second tivo. I looked at networking and searched the forum and I could not find any information on what you can do with networking tivo. Is there a guide to why hack Tivo to see what is available?

Posted by: TivoGeezer

Here are some of the things I do with it. There are more which can be found in the "Underground" forum and on other websites easily found by searching.

1. Provide dual input processing for Cable and Cable w/ Box.
2. Create a daily email listing of coming conflicts, recordings, and expiring shows.
3. Schedule recordings over the web.
4. View lists of deleted shows and undelete them.
5. Get information on space used and free and the health of the disk drives.
6. "Soft" padding.
7. Other desirable functions which cannot be discussed in this forum.

Posted by: cachecard_user

there are really two snide answers:

1) why not
2a) because you can
2b) because it is there

Posted by: cojonesdetoro

quote:
Originally posted by TivoGeezer