TiVo Community Forum Archive 1
READ ONLY ARCHIVES

Welcome to the TiVo Community Forum Archive
This archive covers threads on TiVo Community Forum that have not been posted to from the start until June 30, 2004.  Any thread that has a post made to it between 7/1/04 and 12/31/05, that had not been posted to, will be found in Archive 2.
This is a READ ONLY site.

  Search | ARCHIVE 2 | MAIN SITE

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > DIRECTV Receiver with TiVo
>>> Hughes vs Philips - RCA Remote codes <<<

 
Forum Jump:
Search this Thread:
Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread ---> Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
MacDoggie is offline Old Post 03-15-2004 05:03 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for MacDoggie Find more posts by MacDoggie Add MacDoggie to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
MacDoggie
Member

Registered: Feb 2002
Location: Fairview Hgts, IL
Posts: 60

Question Hughes vs Philips - RCA Remote codes

Well, once again, my Hughes HDVR2 has a problem. No Dolby Digital. But, I have the BB extended warranty, so I can get it replaced rather painlessly. They now only stock RCA and Philips 40gig machines. Are there advantages between these and the Hughes? It would be nice to have different remote codes.

__________________
GXCEBOT working! (FINALLY)
HDVR2

POST #1 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

sjendro is offline Old Post 03-15-2004 05:05 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for sjendro Find more posts by sjendro Add sjendro to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
sjendro
Advanced Member

Registered: Jan 2003
Location: The Birthplace of Montana
Posts: 871

You can program different remote codes into each. I don't remember how right off the top of my head, but it will explain it in your owners manual.

__________________
Hey, at least its not crack!

POST #2 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

captain_video is offline Old Post 03-15-2004 06:42 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for captain_video Find more posts by captain_video Add captain_video to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
captain_video
Advanced Member

Registered: Mar 2002
Location:
Posts: 243

To program your Tivo for a different set of codes:

1. Cover up the IR receive window on all Tivos except the one you wish to reprogram.

2. Display the System Information screen on the Tivo you wish to set up with a different IR remote code. Scroll down to see the remote code setting for your Tivo (1 is default).


3. Point the remote away from the Tivo and hold down both the Tivo/DirecTV button and the Pause button simultaneously until the red LED at the tip of the remote flashes twice. Check the manual to make sure it's the Pause button as I'm writing this from memory and don't have a peanut remote in front of me to confirm this.

4. Point the remote at the Tivo and press any number from 2 through 9.

5. Press the right cursor button on the remote to set the code.

6. Press the left cursor button to exit the System Information screen.

The Tivo is now programmed for a different set of remote codes from your other Tivos. Repeat for any aditional Tivos you wish to program. To restore the Tivo to it's original remote setting just repeat the above procedure but press the number 1 for the Tivo code.

__________________
What's a VCR?

POST #3 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

MacDoggie is offline Old Post 03-15-2004 08:31 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for MacDoggie Find more posts by MacDoggie Add MacDoggie to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
MacDoggie
Member

Registered: Feb 2002
Location: Fairview Hgts, IL
Posts: 60

Very Cool! I'll have to try the different remote codes when I get home!

Anyone have a preference between RCA and Philips, or is it the same under the hood still...

__________________
GXCEBOT working! (FINALLY)
HDVR2

POST #4 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

sjendro is offline Old Post 03-15-2004 11:11 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for sjendro Find more posts by sjendro Add sjendro to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
sjendro
Advanced Member

Registered: Jan 2003
Location: The Birthplace of Montana
Posts: 871

They are all identical...save a few differences on the outside and minor software differences.

__________________
Hey, at least its not crack!

POST #5 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:00 PM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
>>> Hughes vs Philips - RCA Remote codes <<<

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > DIRECTV Receiver with TiVo
Search The Internet
 
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread

Forum Jump:
 
Search this Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.8
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.
Page generated in 0.03855205 seconds (43.77% PHP - 56.23% MySQL) with 26 queries.


Spider History Index