TiVo Community Forum Archive 1
READ ONLY ARCHIVES

Welcome to the TiVo Community Forum Archive
This archive covers threads on TiVo Community Forum that have not been posted to from the start until June 30, 2004.  Any thread that has a post made to it between 7/1/04 and 12/31/05, that had not been posted to, will be found in Archive 2.
This is a READ ONLY site.

  Search | ARCHIVE 2 | MAIN SITE

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
>>> Odd HMO problem <<<

 
Forum Jump:
Search this Thread:
Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread ---> Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
stevetro is offline Old Post 06-23-2004 11:20 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for stevetro Find more posts by stevetro Add stevetro to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
stevetro
New Member

Registered: Jun 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 16

Odd HMO problem

I have a series 2 with the recommended Linksys adaptor. It goes out and gets its updates fine, I can ping it, and I can see the Tivo in the desktop software. Network is good and communications to this point look good.

The problem is: When I publish pictures or music, Tivo can't seem to find the server. The firewall is setup right--what's the deal? Any help would be appreciated.

POST #1 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

stevetro is offline Old Post 06-23-2004 12:54 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for stevetro Find more posts by stevetro Add stevetro to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
stevetro
New Member

Registered: Jun 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 16

I "refined" my search and found some helpful things I'll try when I get home. Most notably, the beacon service. I'll see if that's running, verify firewalls are turned off, and post the results.

POST #2 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

DCIFRTHS is offline Old Post 06-23-2004 03:23 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for DCIFRTHS Find more posts by DCIFRTHS Add DCIFRTHS to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
DCIFRTHS
My TiVo flickers !

Registered: Jan 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 620

quote:
Originally posted by stevetro
I "refined" my search and found some helpful things I'll try when I get home. Most notably, the beacon service. I'll see if that's running, verify firewalls are turned off, and post the results.


Please post. I'm curious as to what you find.

__________________
Does your TiVo flicker ?

POST #3 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

stevetro is offline Old Post 06-24-2004 06:47 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for stevetro Find more posts by stevetro Add stevetro to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
stevetro
New Member

Registered: Jun 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 16

Well, nothing worked. Now I'm worse off. After uninstalling and reinstalling the Tivo software, it doesn't see the Tivo box. Something is really screwy. I can ping the Tivo box, just can't see it. Yes, beacon service is running. Yes, the firewall is disabled. Yes I'm on the proper subnet. So what's next? Well, I'm gonna run NMAP on the XP system to make sure the ports are really open and answering. After that, I might write a quick and dirty VB app to see what's coming in through those ports if anything.

POST #4 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

stevetro is offline Old Post 06-24-2004 08:40 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for stevetro Find more posts by stevetro Add stevetro to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
stevetro
New Member

Registered: Jun 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 16

I think I've found the problem. My workplace did a "stealth" install of BlackIce firewall. Didn't even know it was on the machine. I've removed it and I'll try it again when I get home.

POST #5 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

AVjunkie is offline Old Post 06-26-2004 04:48 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for AVjunkie Find more posts by AVjunkie Add AVjunkie to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
AVjunkie
New Member

Registered: Nov 2003
Location:
Posts: 14

lemme know - ver. 2 adaptor?

quote:
Originally posted by stevetro
I think I've found the problem. My workplace did a "stealth" install of BlackIce firewall. Didn't even know it was on the machine. I've removed it and I'll try it again when I get home.


I would like to hear tif that works. Post back.

Are you running the Linksys usb adaptor v2.6?

POST #6 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

stevetro is offline Old Post 06-28-2004 02:39 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for stevetro Find more posts by stevetro Add stevetro to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
stevetro
New Member

Registered: Jun 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 16

Bingo--that worked. Like I said before, I had a "stealth" copy of blackice instaleld on this laptop I'm using for testing. Removed it and life was good. For those asking, yes I'm using the Linksys USB adaptor v2.6 for the Tivo.

It works now--I'm happy--problem solved.

POST #7 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:24 AM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
>>> Odd HMO problem <<<

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
Search The Internet
 
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread

Forum Jump:
 
Search this Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.8
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.
Page generated in 0.04966307 seconds (86.14% PHP - 13.86% MySQL) with 25 queries.


Spider History Index