TiVo Community Forum Archive 1
READ ONLY ARCHIVES

Welcome to the TiVo Community Forum Archive
This archive covers threads on TiVo Community Forum that have not been posted to from the start until June 30, 2004.  Any thread that has a post made to it between 7/1/04 and 12/31/05, that had not been posted to, will be found in Archive 2.
This is a READ ONLY site.

  Search | ARCHIVE 2 | MAIN SITE

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
>>> Which Tivo to buy? <<<

 
Forum Jump:
Search this Thread:
Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread ---> Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
_Degan_ is offline Old Post 06-12-2004 02:51 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for _Degan_ Find more posts by _Degan_ Add _Degan_ to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
_Degan_
New Member

Registered: Jun 2002
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3

Which Tivo to buy?

I'm taking my last final tomorrow and am looking forward to having some free time, and watching TV. TiVo looks to be the way to go, and I will definately want to upgrade it as soon as I get one.

Which one should I get?

I will certainly add a second hard drive, probably as soon as a I get it. I understand some models (but have not seen a comprehensive list on which ones) require the addition of a bracket. I've built my own PC cases, so adding a bracket seems easy enough.

Not immediately, but eventually I would add the TiVo to my home network (wired) to access controls from my PC, and perhaps use the cable modem Internet access for subscription connection if there is any advantage in doing that instead of letting the TiVo use the analog telephone line.

I imagine that I'll get the monthly subscription service instead of the lifetime, in case I screw-up the machine. Anyone disagree?

Thanks for this great forum I've been lurking in.

POST #1 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

weaknees is offline Old Post 06-12-2004 04:37 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for weaknees Visit weaknees's homepage! Find more posts by weaknees Add weaknees to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
weaknees
TiVo Forum Special Member

Registered: May 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3155

If you don't have DirecTV and/or want networking, then your best bet is a Series 2 TiVo-branded standalone. At this point, they are all equally upgradeable and they will all require a bracket to add a second drive. Good deals on bare-bones, low-capacity units can be found at tivo.com.

__________________
WeaKnees - Proud TiVo Community Special Sponsor

POST #2 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

_Degan_ is offline Old Post 06-12-2004 04:48 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for _Degan_ Find more posts by _Degan_ Add _Degan_ to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
_Degan_
New Member

Registered: Jun 2002
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3

Thanks for the direction.

I should have mentioned I have cable (from Adelphia). We looked into Direct TV a couple of years ago, but cannot put up a dish (that could aim at the right portion of the sky) without violating our vigourously enforced CC&R's.

Weaknees, thanks for the directions to tivo.com, they just sent me an e-mail today with an offer, which restarted this whole investigation. You have a great site.

I'll have to look into whether our cable box is supported as it has been handed down through the three vendors that have serviced our area.

POST #3 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Nuwanda is offline Old Post 06-12-2004 05:51 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Nuwanda Find more posts by Nuwanda Add Nuwanda to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Nuwanda
TiVo is the S***!!!!

Registered: Oct 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 34

FYI,
I think there was a Supreme Court decision a year or so ago that made it unconstitutional to prevent someone from having DTV based on a rule against having a dish. IMHO the DTV TiVo's are far superior to standalones due to the digital format that the streams are coded in vice analog. In a standalone, the TiVo has to take in the stream of data, run it through an A-D converter and then save it to the HD. When you select Best Quality or Basic Quality, you are determining how good of a conversion is done. In the Directivo, the signal is already digital, so you always get great quality. Take m y advice for what it's worth...
Nuwanda the Neutron Manipulator

POST #4 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

paksen is offline Old Post 06-16-2004 03:57 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for paksen Find more posts by paksen Add paksen to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
paksen
Member

Registered: Feb 2002
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 24

quote:
Originally posted by Nuwanda
FYI,
In a standalone, the TiVo has to take in the stream of data, run it through an A-D converter and then save it to the HD. When you select Best Quality or Basic Quality, you are determining how good of a conversion is done. In the Directivo, the signal is already digital, so you always get great quality.



Does Tivo still throw data thru the A-D converter if you're using a cable box and have digital cable?

Paks
-just wondering....

__________________
"it's become appalling clear that our technology
has surpassed our humanity."
- Einstein

POST #5 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

classicsat is offline Old Post 06-16-2004 05:17 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for classicsat Find more posts by classicsat Add classicsat to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
classicsat
Astute User

Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 2490

quote:
Does Tivo still throw data thru the A-D converter if you're using a cable box and have digital cable?

Yes, because the Tivo does not directly record the cable, but the signal coming from the analog outputs of the cable box.

__________________
Tivo is Sony SVR2000, 80 GB HDD.
----
Why do you keep rewinding that? Because with TiVo, I can.

POST #6 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

ThreeSoFar is offline Old Post 06-16-2004 05:36 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for ThreeSoFar Find more posts by ThreeSoFar Add ThreeSoFar to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
ThreeSoFar
FourNowActually

Registered: May 2002
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 2708

I would reconsider the second hard drive, unless you want tons of space.

A 160G will give you just under 160 hours at Basic, which is likely more than enough.

The viewing quality of the standalones is still quite good, despite the analog step.

__________________
I think ThreeSoFar's advice is by far the best...gregpr

Four TiVos now, all with single Samsung drives:
Humax DRT800 w/DVD-R (174hrs)
Two older Series 2's (142hrs and 157hrs),and a newer nightlight
Series 2, a stupid case design IMO (174hrs)
All but the last are lifetimed. TiVite since 2000. There is a Good IR solution.

Got Vonage 4/9/03--need a referral credit?

POST #7 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

_Degan_ is offline Old Post 06-23-2004 09:37 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for _Degan_ Find more posts by _Degan_ Add _Degan_ to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
_Degan_
New Member

Registered: Jun 2002
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 3

Upgrade instead of add?

ThreeSoFar,

I was figuring on adding a second hard drive as being technically less complex than replacing the stock drive with a larger one. Do you disagree? Also, I have little use for another small hard drive, so replacing would mean throwing the existing one away.

Also, while I have not seen "basic" level recording, I've always figured on recording at the highest quality possible. The normal TV signal is hard enough to watch (compared with DVD), so it is hard to imagine how bad it gets with a lot of signal loss. Recorded VHS tapes are terrible. Any opinion on "basic" level recording vs. higher quality?


_Degan_

POST #8 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

classicsat is offline Old Post 06-23-2004 08:31 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for classicsat Find more posts by classicsat Add classicsat to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
classicsat
Astute User

Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 2490

If you are getting a new Tivo, you'd be getting a 40 or 80 hr model, so I'd add.
If it were an S1 with the original drive, replace.

If you have a crappy source, You might not want to waste disk space rcording it in best quality. Experiment and see what you like.

__________________
Tivo is Sony SVR2000, 80 GB HDD.
----
Why do you keep rewinding that? Because with TiVo, I can.

POST #9 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

jmathey is offline Old Post 06-23-2004 09:25 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for jmathey Find more posts by jmathey Add jmathey to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
jmathey
Senior Member

Registered: Oct 2002
Location: McKinney, Texas
Posts: 217

Deegan,

FYI: No covenent or homeowners restriction can bar you from putting up a satellite. The FCC ruled against that years ago. Now, the homeowners association obviously isn't going to tell you that, and they may have that in their list of restrictions or covenents, but you can use the FCC to fight it if you want to.

Here's the FCC page that explains most of the info:

http://ftp.fcc.gov/cgb/consumerfacts/consumerdish.html

hope this helps

John

POST #10 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

gtxjoe is offline Old Post 06-24-2004 08:25 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for gtxjoe Find more posts by gtxjoe Add gtxjoe to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
gtxjoe
New Member

Registered: Jun 2004
Location:
Posts: 12

quote:
Originally posted by jmathey
Deegan,

FYI: No covenent or homeowners restriction can bar you from putting up a satellite. The FCC ruled against that years ago. Now, the homeowners association obviously isn't going to tell you that, and they may have that in their list of restrictions or covenents, but you can use the FCC to fight it if you want to.

Here's the FCC page that explains most of the info:

http://ftp.fcc.gov/cgb/consumerfacts/consumerdish.html

hope this helps

John



You can only mount it on your property, so you are limited to your yard or balcony. If the southern sky is not visible from your property, as the original poster stated, this FCC ruling won't help you.

POST #11 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:16 PM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
>>> Which Tivo to buy? <<<

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
Search The Internet
 
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread

Forum Jump:
 
Search this Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.8
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.
Page generated in 0.05971003 seconds (87.85% PHP - 12.15% MySQL) with 25 queries.


Spider History Index