TiVo Community Forum Archive 1
READ ONLY ARCHIVES

Welcome to the TiVo Community Forum Archive
This archive covers threads on TiVo Community Forum that have not been posted to from the start until June 30, 2004.  Any thread that has a post made to it between 7/1/04 and 12/31/05, that had not been posted to, will be found in Archive 2.
This is a READ ONLY site.

  Search | ARCHIVE 2 | MAIN SITE

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo UK
>>> TiVo and Humax receiver <<<

 
Forum Jump:
Search this Thread:
Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread ---> Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
hockey2 is offline Old Post 01-10-2004 02:27 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for hockey2 Find more posts by hockey2 Add hockey2 to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
hockey2
New Member

Registered: Jan 2004
Location:
Posts: 3

TiVo and Humax receiver

I'm using a TiVo and a Humax F2-Fox Free to Air receiver. Really pleased with them both individually but having problems running them together using the IR from the TiVo. TiVo help line tell me that they don't currently support the Humax but may do in future "but this is not something that we do in a week".

Does anyone know the code for the Humax IR or alternatively have know how I get round this to get the two working together?

thanks very much

POST #1 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

technograndad is offline Old Post 01-10-2004 03:37 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for technograndad Find more posts by technograndad Add technograndad to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
technograndad
Member

Registered: Jul 2002
Location: Winnersh
Posts: 81

I use a Humax 5400 with my spare TiVo, it might just be the same IR codes, certainly worth a try.

To get the TiVo to recognise it involves running a TCL script which overwrites the IR codes for one of the other (unused) set-top boxes offered in the setup menu (I chose the first one in the list) .

If that doesn't work, and you can find the right codes for your box you can always edit the TCL script.

Here's the script I used, save it as humax.tcl, copy it TiVo and make executable.

To install:

1. tivosh
2. source humax.tcl
3. humax

==begin cut==
source /tvlib/tcl/tv/mfslib.tcl
proc setIr { irObj field irSequence } {
set savedInitial 0
foreach irPart $irSequence {
if {$savedInitial == 0} {
set savedInitial 1
dbobj $irObj set $field $irPart
} else {
dbobj $irObj add $field $irPart
}
}
}

proc humax {} {

set db [dbopen]

puts "Setting Humax ir5400z codes for TiVo 00141 (AIWA)..."

RetryTransaction {

set tivoir [db $db open /Component/Ir/TivoFormat/00141]

setIr $tivoir "Dig0" "0 52 34 2 513 257 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32
33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 98 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33
32 32 32 98 32 96 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 98 32 96 32 33 32 32 32 98 32
96 32 98 32 96 32 2729 513 128 32 5483"

setIr $tivoir "Dig1" "0 52 34 2 513 257 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32
33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 98 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 98
32 96 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 98 32 96 32 98 32
96 32 98 32 96 32 2729 513 128 32 5483"

setIr $tivoir "Dig2" "0 52 34 2 513 257 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32
33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 98 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33
32 32 32 98 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 98 32 96 32 33 32 96 32 98 32
96 32 98 32 96 32 2729 513 128 32 5483"

setIr $tivoir "Dig3" "0 52 34 2 513 257 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32
33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 98 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 98
32 32 32 98 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 96 32 33 32 96 32 98 32
96 32 98 32 96 32 2729 513 128 32 5483"

setIr $tivoir "Dig4" "0 52 34 2 513 257 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32
33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 98 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33
32 96 32 98 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 98 32 32 32 33 32 96 32 98 32
96 32 98 32 96 32 2729 513 128 32 5483"

setIr $tivoir "Dig5" "0 52 34 2 513 257 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32
33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 98 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 98
32 96 32 98 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 96 32 98 32
96 32 98 32 96 32 2729 513 128 32 5483"

setIr $tivoir "Dig6" "0 52 34 2 513 257 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32
33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 98 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33
32 32 32 33 32 96 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 98 32 96 32 98 32 32 32 98 32
96 32 98 32 96 32 2729 513 128 32 5483"

setIr $tivoir "Dig7" "0 52 34 2 513 257 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32
33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 98 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 98
32 32 32 33 32 96 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 96 32 98 32 32 32 98 32
96 32 98 32 96 32 2729 513 128 32 5483"

setIr $tivoir "Dig8" "0 52 34 2 513 257 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32
33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 98 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33
32 96 32 33 32 96 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 98 32 32 32 98 32 32 32 98 32
96 32 98 32 96 32 2729 513 128 32 5483"

setIr $tivoir "Dig9" "0 52 34 2 513 257 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32
33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 98 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 98
32 96 32 33 32 96 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 33 32 32 32 98 32 32 32 98 32
96 32 98 32 96 32 2729 513 128 32 5483"
}
puts "Finished! Reboot your TiVo for the new codes to take effect. Choose AIWA code 00141"
dbclose $db
}
===end cut===

The formatting will have been lost pasting it here, you probably need all those setIr commands as singe lines.

Good luck,
John

__________________
TiVo1 - 601E, v2.5.5, 2x120Gb maxtors, TivoWeb over TurboNet, NetGem I-Player.
TiVo2 - US Philips, v3.0, 1x160Gb samsung (lba48 kernel), TivoWeb over PPP, Humax 5400, xmltv.
Sony Wega 32, STR-DB940, MX-500 remote

So far, so good...

POST #2 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

hockey2 is offline Old Post 01-10-2004 03:56 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for hockey2 Find more posts by hockey2 Add hockey2 to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
hockey2
New Member

Registered: Jan 2004
Location:
Posts: 3

John

thanks for this........................my starting point for this was that, to date, I have used only the established functionality in the TiVo and browsed this forum. I would love to give this a try but need guidance on the steps as well as the script

thanks again!

POST #3 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

aitcheff is offline Old Post 06-30-2004 12:44 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for aitcheff Find more posts by aitcheff Add aitcheff to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
aitcheff
Member

Registered: Mar 2003
Location: Redhill, Surrey
Posts: 64

Re: TiVo and Humax receiver

quote:
Originally posted by hockey2
I'm using a TiVo and a Humax F2-Fox Free to Air receiver. Really pleased with them both individually but having problems running them together using the IR from the TiVo. TiVo help line tell me that they don't currently support the Humax but may do in future "but this is not something that we do in a week".

Does anyone know the code for the Humax IR or alternatively have know how I get round this to get the two working together?

thanks very much



Now that TIVO does have support for the Humax F2-FOX Freeview box, can anyone comment on how well it works with TIVO?

Aitcheff.

POST #4 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

hockey2 is offline Old Post 06-30-2004 12:57 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for hockey2 Find more posts by hockey2 Add hockey2 to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
hockey2
New Member

Registered: Jan 2004
Location:
Posts: 3

Works really well. Have been using it with the IR blaster, as opposed to cable, since January and have not missed a channel change.

POST #5 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:07 PM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
>>> TiVo and Humax receiver <<<

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo UK
Search The Internet
 
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread

Forum Jump:
 
Search this Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.8
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.
Page generated in 0.02004290 seconds (90.09% PHP - 9.91% MySQL) with 27 queries.


Spider History Index