TiVo Community Forum Archive 1
READ ONLY ARCHIVES

Welcome to the TiVo Community Forum Archive
This archive covers threads on TiVo Community Forum that have not been posted to from the start until June 30, 2004.  Any thread that has a post made to it between 7/1/04 and 12/31/05, that had not been posted to, will be found in Archive 2.
This is a READ ONLY site.

  Search | ARCHIVE 2 | MAIN SITE

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
>>> How to know which drive is bad? <<<

 
Forum Jump:
Search this Thread:
Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread ---> Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
corddogs is offline Old Post 06-28-2004 08:10 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for corddogs Find more posts by corddogs Add corddogs to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
corddogs
New Member

Registered: Mar 2002
Location: Northern California
Posts: 2

How to know which drive is bad?

Using the great instructions from Hinsdale, I upgraded my Sony SAT-T60 from a single 40 gb drive to two 120 gb drives in June, 2002. Lately the box has been freezing up and will only come back up if left unplugged for an hour or so. But after coming back up, it will run only 5 minutes then freeze the picture and not respond to any panel buttons.

I opened it up and replaced the new drives with the original 40 gb drive. The box now runs fine (of course, it made a very long phone call to catch up on 2 years of software updates).

Is there an easy way to determine which of the two drives is bad? I guess I will buy a replacement drive and use a utility to copy, assuming the bad drive will run long enough to allow the copy.

Is there a non-destructive utility that will test each drive in a PC and tell me which is bad? (I am not a Linux expert but can probably work through this if I know which drive went bad.)

Thanks for the help and this excellent forum!

POST #1 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

dharel is offline Old Post 06-28-2004 08:12 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for dharel Find more posts by dharel Add dharel to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
dharel
LBTiVo

Registered: Dec 2002
Location: Long Beach, NY
Posts: 88

If you have Maxtor drives you will need to get the powermax utility. It runs off a floppy in dos. If you have other branded drive you will need to download the utility for that brand.

POST #2 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:31 AM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
>>> How to know which drive is bad? <<<

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
Search The Internet
 
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread

Forum Jump:
 
Search this Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.8
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.
Page generated in 0.01941609 seconds (43.64% PHP - 56.36% MySQL) with 21 queries.


Spider History Index