TiVo Community Forum Archive 1
READ ONLY ARCHIVES

Welcome to the TiVo Community Forum Archive
This archive covers threads on TiVo Community Forum that have not been posted to from the start until June 30, 2004.  Any thread that has a post made to it between 7/1/04 and 12/31/05, that had not been posted to, will be found in Archive 2.
This is a READ ONLY site.

  Search | ARCHIVE 2 | MAIN SITE

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
>>> Replacing a bad HD in a two HD setup <<<

 
Forum Jump:
Search this Thread:
Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread ---> Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
primelord is offline Old Post 06-28-2004 05:20 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for primelord Find more posts by primelord Add primelord to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
primelord
New Member

Registered: Jul 2002
Location:
Posts: 6

Replacing a bad HD in a two HD setup

I have Series 1 Hughes DirecTivo. Recently I started having some problems with the video stream I believe it is the original HD going out. Early on I had added a 100 GB HD to my setup so I had the original 40 GB HD and the additional 100 GB in my Tivo.

I have recently purchased a new 120 GB HD and I am wondering what the best way to add the new HD into the setup is. Should I just follow the instructions for replacing two HDs? When doing the mfs backup and restor commands can I make my old second HD both the source and target in those commands?

POST #1 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Robert S is offline Old Post 06-28-2004 05:35 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Robert S Find more posts by Robert S Add Robert S to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Robert S
TiVo Forum Special Member

Registered: Jul 2002
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Posts: 9266

You need to use dd to clone the failing disk on to the replacement. Use conv=noerror,sync bs=8k

__________________
Please do not PM me asking for TiVo backups. I don't have any.

POST #2 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

primelord is offline Old Post 06-28-2004 06:16 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for primelord Find more posts by primelord Add primelord to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
primelord
New Member

Registered: Jul 2002
Location:
Posts: 6

It won't matter that it will be going from a 40 GB HD to a 120 GB HD?

POST #3 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Robert S is offline Old Post 06-28-2004 07:29 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Robert S Find more posts by Robert S Add Robert S to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Robert S
TiVo Forum Special Member

Registered: Jul 2002
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Posts: 9266

That's fine. To start with, the TiVo will think it's a 40Gb drive, it won't be aware that there's extra space on the new drive. When you're sure that the problem has been fixed, you can use mfsadd to expand into the new space.

__________________
Please do not PM me asking for TiVo backups. I don't have any.

POST #4 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

primelord is offline Old Post 06-28-2004 07:58 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for primelord Find more posts by primelord Add primelord to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
primelord
New Member

Registered: Jul 2002
Location:
Posts: 6

Thanks for the info!

POST #5 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:32 PM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
>>> Replacing a bad HD in a two HD setup <<<

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
Search The Internet
 
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread

Forum Jump:
 
Search this Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.8
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.
Page generated in 0.02242994 seconds (50.80% PHP - 49.20% MySQL) with 21 queries.


Spider History Index