TiVo Community Forum Archive 1
READ ONLY ARCHIVES

Welcome to the TiVo Community Forum Archive
This archive covers threads on TiVo Community Forum that have not been posted to from the start until June 30, 2004.  Any thread that has a post made to it between 7/1/04 and 12/31/05, that had not been posted to, will be found in Archive 2.
This is a READ ONLY site.

  Search | ARCHIVE 2 | MAIN SITE

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
>>> Wireless and Firewalls <<<

 
Forum Jump:
Search this Thread:
Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread ---> Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
tivoforjohn is offline Old Post 02-25-2004 09:20 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for tivoforjohn Find more posts by tivoforjohn Add tivoforjohn to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
tivoforjohn
New Member

Registered: Feb 2004
Location:
Posts: 2

Angry Wireless and Firewalls

Hi, anyone know what Firewall ports to open up to make the wireless connection work on a firewalled home network?

I have the wireless adapter all configured and it finds the wireless home network fine, and I can ping the wireless adapter from any PC on my home network, but the connection to Tivo fails. I talked to tech support and they said to remove the firewall - which is silly.

Thanks for your help!!!

POST #1 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

pcjackson is offline Old Post 02-25-2004 10:35 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for pcjackson Visit pcjackson's homepage! Find more posts by pcjackson Add pcjackson to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
pcjackson
New Member

Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 9

Well, indeed your firewall should allow access to all ports, outbound. It would be "silly" if it did not. What type of router are you using?

Cheers,
Phillip

__________________
Phillip C. Jackson, Geek
www.phillipjackson.com

Tivo Series2 (80)
Tivo HDVR2

POST #2 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

tivoforjohn is offline Old Post 02-25-2004 06:26 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for tivoforjohn Find more posts by tivoforjohn Add tivoforjohn to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
tivoforjohn
New Member

Registered: Feb 2004
Location:
Posts: 2

What type of Router doesn't matter. Someone should know what ports this thing uses - the folks at Tivo certainly don't.

If you leave all outbound ports open on a firewall, you can be used as a host for certain types of attacks if any system on your network becomes compromised.

POST #3 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Dmtalon is offline Old Post 02-25-2004 08:29 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Dmtalon Find more posts by Dmtalon Add Dmtalon to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Dmtalon
Member

Registered: Dec 2003
Location: Florence, KY
Posts: 32

If I get time (and remember) I'll force a call while watching my logs and see if I can tell what port it's trying to go out on.

POST #4 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

TiVoBill is offline Old Post 02-25-2004 09:39 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for TiVoBill Visit TiVoBill's homepage! Find more posts by TiVoBill Add TiVoBill to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
TiVoBill
Advanced Member

Registered: Jun 2002
Location: Alviso, CA
Posts: 888

This thread would be a good place to start.

If you are using Home Media Option, there is also an article on our support site that should help:

What Network Ports Do I Need Open When Using My TiVo DVR?

__________________
Bill Dailey
Project Manager
TiVo Customer Support

POST #5 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

headroll is offline Old Post 02-25-2004 10:22 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for headroll Find more posts by headroll Add headroll to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
headroll
wife & kid included

Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 444

quote:
Originally posted by tivoforjohn
What type of Router doesn't matter. Someone should know what ports this thing uses - the folks at Tivo certainly don't.



Based on TiVoBill's response it seems that the folks at TiVo (or at least some of them) do know.

TiVoOpsMgr ... did the CS rep fail to find this in their script or is it really information not available via phone support?

-Roll

__________________
HeadRoll

SVR-2000 [3.0] // 130 HRS // phoneline (Baby)
SVR-3000 [4.0] // 80 HRS // Wired (Toddler) || HMO
SVR-3000 [4.0] // 275 HRS // Wired (Mommy) || HMO
Tivo - S2 [4.0] // 40 Hour // Wired (Nanny) || HMO - Needs new HD
Tivo - S2 [4.0] // 40 Hour Refurb // Wired (Daddy) || HMO

POST #6 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

TiVoBill is offline Old Post 02-25-2004 10:46 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for TiVoBill Visit TiVoBill's homepage! Find more posts by TiVoBill Add TiVoBill to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
TiVoBill
Advanced Member

Registered: Jun 2002
Location: Alviso, CA
Posts: 888

quote:
Originally posted by headroll
Based on TiVoBill's response it seems that the folks at TiVo (or at least some of them) do know.

TiVoOpsMgr ... did the CS rep fail to find this in their script or is it really information not available via phone support?

-Roll



I will answer this since one of my projects is maintaining the Knowledebase used by our call centers. The only information about firewalls in our internal Knowledebase is the article I linked to above, which deals with PC or Mac based firewalls.

Port 80 is used by web browsers to communicate with web servers so it is almost never blocked on hardware or software based firewalls.

__________________
Bill Dailey
Project Manager
TiVo Customer Support

POST #7 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

mikev is offline Old Post 02-25-2004 11:18 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for mikev Visit mikev's homepage! Find more posts by mikev Add mikev to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
mikev
Member

Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 48

I think the original question here was what outgoing ports are used by the TiVo for internet updates and the like, not what ports are used for HMO communication within the local network.

Some people have firewalls set up to only allow certain outgoing ports, to prevent unauthorized outgoing connections (such as those used by so many trojans/worms these days), so they just want to make sure they have all outgoing ports allowed, so there are no issues as far as the TiVo getting updates.

The first link Bill gave answers this pretty well, I think -

80 TCP
8080 TCP
and either 37 TCP/UDP (time) or 123 UDP (ntp). I'm sure ntp is preferred, but time is probably a fallback should ntp be blocked or time out.

I'm sure the first two are only really needed for the updates, though. The time ports are to make sure the clock stays correct.

- Mike

__________________
TiVo Series 2 80hr with HMO
Eagerly awaiting XMPCR support!
www.xm411.com

POST #8 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Joey P is offline Old Post 02-25-2004 11:29 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Joey P Find more posts by Joey P Add Joey P to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Joey P
Senior Member

Registered: Oct 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 314

quote:
Originally posted by Dmtalon
If I get time (and remember) I'll force a call while watching my logs and see if I can tell what port it's trying to go out on.


It's ALWAYS ALWAYS helpful to know what kind of equipment one has in order to help.

POST #9 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

pcjackson is offline Old Post 02-26-2004 12:04 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for pcjackson Visit pcjackson's homepage! Find more posts by pcjackson Add pcjackson to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
pcjackson
New Member

Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 9

As Joey P stated, it is important to know the manufacturer of the router, as in certain cases, there are different approaches to handling this issue (preconfigured firewall maps, default firewall settings, etc).

Regarding what ports are open, I read your initial post incorrectly, and responded as if you didn't have *capacity* to adjust the outbound ports.

Indeed, from my research, you should open, for internal outbound access, 8080,80,37(TCP/UDP),123(UDP)... 80 / 8080 are for www, 37 for time and 123 for NTP which Tivo uses to set its clock.

__________________
Phillip C. Jackson, Geek
www.phillipjackson.com

Tivo Series2 (80)
Tivo HDVR2

POST #10 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

arjay is offline Old Post 06-30-2004 06:57 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for arjay Find more posts by arjay Add arjay to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
arjay
AVS Member

Registered: Mar 2002
Location: 20 miles from Canada
Posts: 96

BUMP!

quote:
Originally posted by TiVoBill
I will answer this since one of my projects is maintaining the Knowledebase used by our call centers. The only information about firewalls in our internal Knowledebase is the article I linked to above, which deals with PC or Mac based firewalls.

Port 80 is used by web browsers to communicate with web servers so it is almost never blocked on hardware or software based firewalls.



Tivo's Help Center is apparently a far better resource than TiVo Inc. is, at least as far as the firewall issue is concerned.

I bought a Pioneer TiVo DVR810HS DVD recorder last October, primarily because of its ability to use a DSL connection to download the TiVo Basic program guide. (There are no local toll-free dial-up numbers available.) But the router's firewall was a problem.

I called Pioneer's CS and was basically told that they didn't know a thing and it wasn't Pioneer's problem and I should take down the firewall. I then called TiVo, and was told that they don't do CS for Pioneer or Toshiba TiVo products. I asked if they had a solution for getting through a firewall for TiVo's regular Series2 recorders. They said they did not.

I called Pioneer back (several times) and asked if they could follow up with TiVo on the firewall problem, and even got an email from a TiVo rep. asking for followup info. The only info I got out of all this was that TCP port 80 had to be open.

For awhile I just didn't let the Tivo call in for several months. Since the TiVo Plus free trial had been in effect I effectively traded TiVo's EPG for an ongoing ability to select between the Pioneer's tuner and regular line input while using the cable's EPG for program info. Pioneer advertises two line inputs but the usual one is inoperative without TiVo Plus while the other uses a clunky manual proceedure.

But I kept searching for a firewall answer. Finally a couple of weeks ago I stumbled across this and the related threads and voila, the problem was instantly solved!

TiVo's Basic EPG is fine and I use channel 3 as a convenient compromise "line input" now that the EPG data comes by DSL. But it should have been easy from the start!

POST #11 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:22 PM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
>>> Wireless and Firewalls <<<

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
Search The Internet
 
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread

Forum Jump:
 
Search this Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.8
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.
Page generated in 0.05965495 seconds (88.33% PHP - 11.67% MySQL) with 22 queries.


Spider History Index