TiVo Community Forum Archive 1
READ ONLY ARCHIVES

Welcome to the TiVo Community Forum Archive
This archive covers threads on TiVo Community Forum that have not been posted to from the start until June 30, 2004.  Any thread that has a post made to it between 7/1/04 and 12/31/05, that had not been posted to, will be found in Archive 2.
This is a READ ONLY site.

  Search | ARCHIVE 2 | MAIN SITE

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Off Topic Areas (Non-TiVo) > UK General Chit-Chat
>>> Source for Home Cinema decoder <<<

Pages (2): « Prev 1 [2]  
Forum Jump:
Search this Thread:
Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread ---> Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
iankb is offline Old Post 04-22-2004 07:12 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for iankb Find more posts by iankb Add iankb to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
iankb
TiVo Forum Special Member

Registered: Oct 2000
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 4051

Dolby ProLogic Surround (I or II) is carried by phase information in the stereo channels. Only Dolby Digital 5.1 requires co-axial or optical connections. Unless the stereo signals are processed in some way that destroys the phase information, DPL will be carried by normal twin phono leads. I use phono leads from the output of my TV into my amp, and I get perfect surround sound.

Dolby Prologic Surround is true recorded surround sound with correctly-positioned sound sources (as with Dolby Digital 5.1), but with a couple of limitations. Firstly, it has no front centre channel, and both rear channels carry the same signal. Secondly, the rear channels do not carry the full frequency range. DPL II was an enhancement that blended some of the front stereo channels into the rear channels so that there is some difference between the rear channels, and an improved frequency range. Sound positioning is too good in that, if a front door-bell sounds behind the camera, I go to answer the front-door.

Any surround sound that is generated artificially by a decoder will purely be a way of spreading the stereo channels into the rear speakers. It will not have any discrete sounds at the rear, and any sounds will certainly not be in the positions that a sound engineer placed them.

It sounds like you need to get a proper Home Cinema Amplifier with the surround sound processors built-in. Your separate decoder or the chaining through the minidisc recorder is obviously not processing the phase data correctly. Have you tried cutting the minidisc recorder out of the loop, and taking the TV stereo output directly into the decoder?

__________________
Ian.

For gold text on leather in TiVoWeb, try the redbook, bluebook, greenbook and blackbook themes, now updated with button menus

POST #21 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

MarkE19 is offline Old Post 04-22-2004 07:18 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for MarkE19 Find more posts by MarkE19 Add MarkE19 to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
MarkE19
New Member

Registered: Feb 2002
Location: London
Posts: 31

I agree with Ian. DPL does get carried via the stereo phono connections. All my TV is view with the sound via my AV amp and always with DPL2 on. I always get the surround, either discreet or matrixed and my only audio connection to the AV system is a phono pair connected to the TiVo.

Mark.

POST #22 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

AMc is offline Old Post 04-23-2004 06:29 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for AMc Find more posts by AMc Add AMc to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
AMc
Senior Member

Registered: Mar 2002
Location: London
Posts: 325

quote:
iankb said - Sound positioning is too good in that, if a front door-bell sounds behind the camera, I go to answer the front-door.



Pavlov's home cinema - I can imagine doing that myself but it made me smile to read it.

__________________
TeleWest Active Digital - Thomson Tivo 120+30Gb
My settings for TWAD with a Pace 4000 in N16 with a dongle...
PACE|No Leading Zeros|STB enter key NO|Front blaster NO|20004 FAST|wand over the lowest digit stuck out about 1.5cm|mains timer restarts TW every morning

POST #23 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:43 AM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Pages (2): « Prev 1 [2]   Last Thread   Next Thread
>>> Source for Home Cinema decoder <<<

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Off Topic Areas (Non-TiVo) > UK General Chit-Chat
Search The Internet
 
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread

Forum Jump:
 
Search this Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.8
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.
Page generated in 0.04689503 seconds (84.53% PHP - 15.47% MySQL) with 20 queries.


Spider History Index