TiVo Community Forum Archive 1
READ ONLY ARCHIVES

Welcome to the TiVo Community Forum Archive
This archive covers threads on TiVo Community Forum that have not been posted to from the start until June 30, 2004.  Any thread that has a post made to it between 7/1/04 and 12/31/05, that had not been posted to, will be found in Archive 2.
This is a READ ONLY site.

  Search | ARCHIVE 2 | MAIN SITE

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo UK
>>> Hard drives on their way out??? <<<

 
Forum Jump:
Search this Thread:
Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread ---> Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
smiffy is offline Old Post 06-27-2004 03:40 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for smiffy Visit smiffy's homepage! Find more posts by smiffy Add smiffy to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
smiffy
internetentrepreneur

Registered: Mar 2002
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 124

Hard drives on their way out???

My tivo crashed yesterday and I could not get it past the Welcome.Powering Up screen.

I've swapped the pair (of upgraded hard drives) for my original 40gb drive and the Tivo os back working again.

Whats the procedure for establishing which drive has died of the pair?

__________________
Tivo 6023 + SkyD, 160gb, 40GB, NIC
Lifetime Sub
Spare TiVo with NIC
Sky + with mirror sub
Wife, Three Kids! + Big Mortgage

POST #1 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Robert S is offline Old Post 06-27-2004 08:05 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Robert S Find more posts by Robert S Add Robert S to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Robert S
TiVo Forum Special Member

Registered: Jul 2002
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Posts: 9266

The drive manufacturers have diagnostic utilities for download on their websites.

Sticking at 'welcome' suggests that either the A drive has failed or the B drive has failed in a way that prevents the TiVo from seeing the A drive (in that case, the A drive on its own would be able to get to 'almost there').

__________________
Please do not PM me asking for TiVo backups. I don't have any.

POST #2 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

iankb is offline Old Post 06-27-2004 09:18 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for iankb Find more posts by iankb Add iankb to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
iankb
TiVo Forum Special Member

Registered: Oct 2000
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 4051

And while you're on the drive manufacturer's website, check the warranty status of each of your drives. You will need the drive serial numbers which are printed on the drives, or often viewable in the diagnostic utility.

__________________
Ian.

For gold text on leather in TiVoWeb, try the redbook, bluebook, greenbook and blackbook themes, now updated with button menus

POST #3 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

smiffy is offline Old Post 06-28-2004 01:15 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for smiffy Visit smiffy's homepage! Find more posts by smiffy Add smiffy to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
smiffy
internetentrepreneur

Registered: Mar 2002
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 124

Thanks...

I've run the Power Max diag utility and it report the new 120GB HDD as "failing". Fortunately its one of the drives with a 3yr warranty so I can get an RMA.

Just as well I kept a spare drive!!! It just a shame I'd not backed up the SP's

oh at leat the menus will be quicker with only an 80gb drive!

Is there an easy way to recreate these SP's in Tivo web?

__________________
Tivo 6023 + SkyD, 160gb, 40GB, NIC
Lifetime Sub
Spare TiVo with NIC
Sky + with mirror sub
Wife, Three Kids! + Big Mortgage

POST #4 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

sjp is offline Old Post 06-28-2004 01:18 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for sjp Find more posts by sjp Add sjp to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
sjp
Advanced Member

Registered: Oct 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 762

if you're thinking of buying a new HDD (or 2) check out Aldi from this Thursay... 160gig Samsungs for £70. you'll not get at all the disk space without a new kernal but £70 for 137gb ain't bad.

plus they've a selection of woodworking cramps for £6 - possibly not the best make in the world but if you only need them occassionaly then they'll probably do OK.

POST #5 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

blindlemon is offline Old Post 06-28-2004 06:51 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for blindlemon Visit blindlemon's homepage! Find more posts by blindlemon Add blindlemon to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
blindlemon
Knackered Member

Registered: May 2002
Location: Malmesbury, UK
Posts: 1341

At the risk of giving away trade secrets () I feel obliged to point out that bare Samsung 160gb drives are available cheaper than this elsewhere.

Of course, if you want a fully pre-configured, tested drive, with LBA48 kernel, cachecard drivers and TiVoWeb pre-installed, a torx bit, a bootable utility and drivers CD, printed instructions and free next-day special delivery, then you may feel it's worth paying a bit more....

__________________
6023, Lifetime Sub, 240gb (2x Samsung SV1204H), Sky, CacheCard, mode 0, 100+ SPs/AWLs
6022, Lifetime Sub, 120gb (Samsung SP1213N ), Freeview, Turbonet, mode 0, 90+ SPs/AWLs
601E, No sub, Various drives, Cachecard/Turbonet/Airnet, Various hacks, my 'test' machine... !!

Last edited by blindlemon on 06-28-2004 at 06:58 AM

POST #6 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Paul Stimpson is offline Old Post 06-28-2004 05:39 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Paul Stimpson Find more posts by Paul Stimpson Add Paul Stimpson to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Paul Stimpson
Senior Member

Registered: Aug 2002
Location: Farnborough, Hants, UK.
Posts: 250

Hi,

I just had a brand new Maxtor drive fail after 2 days. I learned a very valuable lesson. I will never fit another drive in a machine again without running the manufacturer's diagnostic utility first. It can save a lot of installation effort on a drive that is going to fail.

Cheers,
Paul.

POST #7 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:19 AM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
>>> Hard drives on their way out??? <<<

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo UK
Search The Internet
 
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread

Forum Jump:
 
Search this Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.8
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.
Page generated in 0.05004597 seconds (87.87% PHP - 12.13% MySQL) with 20 queries.


Spider History Index