TiVo Community Forum Archive 1
READ ONLY ARCHIVES

Welcome to the TiVo Community Forum Archive
This archive covers threads on TiVo Community Forum that have not been posted to from the start until June 30, 2004.  Any thread that has a post made to it between 7/1/04 and 12/31/05, that had not been posted to, will be found in Archive 2.
This is a READ ONLY site.

  Search | ARCHIVE 2 | MAIN SITE

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
>>> Windows WMA File Support?? <<<

 
Forum Jump:
Search this Thread:
Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread ---> Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
nekoashi is offline Old Post 06-28-2003 12:05 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for nekoashi Find more posts by nekoashi Add nekoashi to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
nekoashi
New Member

Registered: Jun 2003
Location:
Posts: 4

Windows WMA File Support??

Hey,

Anyone know if Tivo is planning to include WMA file support for playing digital music over the home network? Is there any way to enable that support now?

At least half of my music collection is WMA, and I'd really like access through the HMO.

Thanks.

POST #1 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Hunter Green is offline Old Post 06-28-2003 01:08 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Hunter Green Visit Hunter Green's homepage! Find more posts by Hunter Green Add Hunter Green to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Hunter Green
Curmudgeon

Registered: Feb 2002
Location: People's Republic of Vermont
Posts: 1116

You can already do this. Search for "J River" for the software that does it. Or just search on "WMA", that'll also work.

__________________
TiVo Series 2, 226 hours at Basic, v4.0 with HMO
Remember democracy? Kind of nice, wasn't it?

POST #2 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Dan203 is offline Old Post 07-02-2003 12:50 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Dan203 Visit Dan203's homepage! Find more posts by Dan203 Add Dan203 to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Dan203
Cyn-er

Registered: Apr 2000
Location: Carson City, Nevada
Posts: 3744

J River can do this, but it does so by converting the WMA file to MP3, which can introduce some artifacts.

TiVo has not announced any plans to support any format other then MP3.

Dan

__________________
Moderator: TiVo Coffee House, Help Center, HD Powered PVRs, Home Media Option & Happy Hour
4 TiVo branded Series 2 units
1 Pioneer 810H Series 2 unit
All with Lifetime
Note: Two of the above TiVos actually belong to loopey, but I have access to them so I'm counting them

"It's all fun and games until someone loses an eye" - loopey
"Dan's absolutely correct." - TiVoPony (link)
"Dan's absolutely correct." - TiVoOpsMgr (link)

POST #3 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Zathrus is offline Old Post 07-02-2003 02:05 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Zathrus Find more posts by Zathrus Add Zathrus to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Zathrus
Senior Member

Registered: Nov 2002
Location:
Posts: 408

TiVo is not going to support any format other than MP3 with the current hardware either... the Broadcom chip does the MP3 decoding by itself, and the TiVo doesn't have enough CPU power to do the decoding itself while at the same time doing everything else it needs to.

POST #4 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Stuckeyboss is offline Old Post 07-02-2003 11:32 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Stuckeyboss Find more posts by Stuckeyboss Add Stuckeyboss to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Stuckeyboss
Member

Registered: Apr 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 39

Zathrus,

I was of the same opinion as you until TiVo started stating that they were going to support AAC for Series 2 TiVo's. Which made me have to rethink my position. How do you suppose TiVo is going to work the AAC playback?

I'm only asking because it seems if they can do a workaround for AAC, then they should be able to cook something up for WMA.

__________________
.: Stuckeyboss :.

POST #5 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Zathrus is offline Old Post 07-02-2003 07:11 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Zathrus Find more posts by Zathrus Add Zathrus to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Zathrus
Senior Member

Registered: Nov 2002
Location:
Posts: 408

It'll be converted to MP3 on the fly... I've seen nothing that indicates otherwise.

POST #6 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

ericv is offline Old Post 07-13-2003 01:00 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for ericv Find more posts by ericv Add ericv to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
ericv
New Member

Registered: Feb 2002
Location:
Posts: 5

Your post about the decoding of MP3s being done with
the broadcom chip is incorrect.

The broadcom 7020 (the decoder chip on the box) is
a chip capable of decoding MPEG 1 L1 and 2, but not 3.
It also decodes AC/3 (as seen on the Directivo).

The MP3 decoding is done purely in software using
mpg321 for those who are familiar with that little program
on Linux. You can see this by just downloading
the code that is run on TiVo on http://www.tivo.com/linux/index.html

and inside TiVo-4.0-cmd.tar.gz, you will
find:
cmd/mpg321/...

Also, as an additionnal note, the CPU used on this box
is a 162 MHz mips (or 202 if you got the first versions)
which is more than enough to decode mp3s.
More recent audio formats like AAC, WMA, Ogg are
heavier on CPU usage, and would like more
difficult to decode ...

POST #7 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

d_anders is offline Old Post 07-17-2003 08:31 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for d_anders Find more posts by d_anders Add d_anders to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
d_anders
Senior Member

Registered: Oct 2000
Location: Twin Cities - Minnesota
Posts: 333

quote:
Originally posted by Zathrus
TiVo is not going to support any format other than MP3 with the current hardware either... the Broadcom chip does the MP3 decoding by itself, and the TiVo doesn't have enough CPU power to do the decoding itself while at the same time doing everything else it needs to.


True, but they could but support right into the TiVo desktop that automatically converts the WMA files to MP3 format on the fly (on the PC), just like JRiver.

I haven't bought JRiver, nor do I intend to...The next release of HMO should just support this out of the box. Better yet, TiVo should determine how much money they would need to develop the interface better, then do a cost/benefit analysis to determine if it would be better for them just to buy JRiver than build it themselves.

__________________
-Dean
Stop worrying about TiVo Suggestions (i.e. Thumbs) to get things right.
Use WISHLISTS and priortize with Season Pass Manager instead! They are some of the best things about TiVo.

POST #8 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Zathrus is offline Old Post 07-17-2003 07:10 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Zathrus Find more posts by Zathrus Add Zathrus to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Zathrus
Senior Member

Registered: Nov 2002
Location:
Posts: 408

After doing some more research and talking to friends that know more about this than I do, I believe ericv is correct -- the Broadcom 7020 does not do MP3 decoding in hardware. It does some formats that are similar, but apparantly not MPEG1/2 Layer 3. I'm not 100% sure on this still, since the tech docs are rather sparse, but for now I'm going to reverse myself and suspect that MP3 decoding is done by the CPU (and while a 200 MHz MIPS could certainly do it, I'm surprised it can do that and everything else TiVo needs CPU for at the same time).

I think AAC is more CPU hungry, but I'm not sure. It's a completely different CODEC from the other MPEG streams. I think the same goes for WMA. Licensing issues and Linux support are probably the biggest issues for WMA.

POST #9 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

morac is offline Old Post 07-18-2003 03:04 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for morac Find more posts by morac Add morac to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
morac
Advanced Member

Registered: Mar 2003
Location: Delran, NJ
Posts: 709

WMA requires a license from Microsoft which costs money.

TiVo can barely decode MP3 as it is.

I stumbled upon a glitch in the HMO software where if you back out of the HMO music folder just as the next song is about to start, the song will start playing and you can navigate the TiVo like normal.

With the song playing in the background browsing menus on the TiVo was very sluggish. In fact I can see why they don't let you view pictures and music at the same time as it was nearly impossible to navigate.

__________________
Lifetime subscribed TiVo Series 2 (TCD240080) upgraded to 253 hours.
Motorola DCT 2000 (firmware: 07.85, software 70.07) controlled via serial.
USB200M connected to WET54G.

POST #10 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

pagefault is offline Old Post 07-30-2003 07:42 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for pagefault Find more posts by pagefault Add pagefault to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
pagefault
Member

Registered: Sep 2002
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 42

quote:
Originally posted by morac
WMA requires a license from Microsoft which costs money.


As does MP3. The WMA license is actually significantly cheaper than the MP3 license, at 10 cents a unit.

Ken

POST #11 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:32 PM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
>>> Windows WMA File Support?? <<<

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
Search The Internet
 
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread

Forum Jump:
 
Search this Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.8
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.
Page generated in 0.06078410 seconds (86.28% PHP - 13.72% MySQL) with 22 queries.


Spider History Index