TiVo Community Forum Archive 1
READ ONLY ARCHIVES

Welcome to the TiVo Community Forum Archive
This archive covers threads on TiVo Community Forum that have not been posted to from the start until June 30, 2004.  Any thread that has a post made to it between 7/1/04 and 12/31/05, that had not been posted to, will be found in Archive 2.
This is a READ ONLY site.

  Search | ARCHIVE 2 | MAIN SITE

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
>>> .wma to .mp3 conversion? <<<

 
Forum Jump:
Search this Thread:
Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread ---> Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Newfler is offline Old Post 01-14-2004 12:28 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Newfler Find more posts by Newfler Add Newfler to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Newfler
New Member

Registered: Dec 2002
Location:
Posts: 19

Question .wma to .mp3 conversion?

Most of the music files on my computer are in .wma format (I use the windows media player to copy CDs to the computer) and I've just used the default settings.

Is there a simple way to comvert my tracks or do I have to go back and re-copy all the CDs that I want making sure that they are copied as an .mp3?

Thanks

POST #1 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

icatar is offline Old Post 01-14-2004 12:44 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for icatar Visit icatar's homepage! Find more posts by icatar Add icatar to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
icatar
Member

Registered: Apr 2003
Location: Norwalk, CT
Posts: 34

I use this to play my WMAs on the Tivo:

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-v...threadid=124778

POST #2 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

morac is offline Old Post 01-14-2004 12:48 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for morac Find more posts by morac Add morac to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
morac
Advanced Member

Registered: Mar 2003
Location: Delran, NJ
Posts: 709

Don't bother converting your .wma's to .mp3, just download the .wma plugin for TiVo Desktop and you can play your .wma files on the TiVo without having to convert them.

I'd also recommend the Window Media Library plugin as well if you use Windows Media Player.

__________________
Lifetime subscribed TiVo Series 2 (TCD240080) upgraded to 253 hours.
Motorola DCT 2000 (firmware: 07.85, software 70.07) controlled via serial.
USB200M connected to WET54G.

POST #3 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Newfler is offline Old Post 01-14-2004 02:03 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Newfler Find more posts by Newfler Add Newfler to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Newfler
New Member

Registered: Dec 2002
Location:
Posts: 19

Thank you much - should have done a search myself before asking. I've downlaoded what I seem to need and am now going to install it all.

Thanks again.

POST #4 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

paule500 is offline Old Post 01-25-2004 05:39 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for paule500 Find more posts by paule500 Add paule500 to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
paule500
New Member

Registered: Jan 2004
Location:
Posts: 2

I just downloaded this application, installed it, and it works just fine. Surprised that TiVo didn't just included it, but glad someone has done the right thing!

Thanks!

POST #5 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

MyTivoNeedsHelp is offline Old Post 01-26-2004 01:27 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for MyTivoNeedsHelp Find more posts by MyTivoNeedsHelp Add MyTivoNeedsHelp to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
MyTivoNeedsHelp
New Member

Registered: Jan 2004
Location:
Posts: 2

WMA plug-in not working for me

Help! The WMA plug-in is not working correctly for me. I really
would like to get this working for me and a few other of my
friends and family that have HMO or are thinking about purchasing
it. I have installed the plug-in on my system twice, and a friends
once without success. I have always made sure to shutdown the
Tivo Server, install the Windows Media 9 runtime, and then install
the plug-in before restarting the Tivo Server.

I basically have two different sets of WMA files:
1) Without copyright protection that I had burned from my CD collection
2) With copyright protection dowloaded from the new Napster service

Whenever I attempt to play a WMA song from Tivo, the
following occurs:

1) The song appears with the message "Continous Play"
2) No music is heard
3) Tivo quickly moves onto the next song in the playlist
4) If the next song is a WMA, repeat 1 through 3, otherwise
begin playing normally.

NOTE: I am using the Windows Media player playlist plug-in

Here is some system information:
Windows XP Home Edition (Pentium 4, 2.4 Ghz, 512 MB RAM)
Windows Media Player Version: 9.00.00.3075

Let me know if I can provide any more info or support.

POST #6 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Turtleboy is offline Old Post 01-26-2004 06:48 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Turtleboy Find more posts by Turtleboy Add Turtleboy to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Turtleboy
170

Registered: Mar 2001
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 7659

Is it all WMAs that a broken, are just the Napster ones?

__________________
My Blog (New and infrequently updated)

POST #7 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

MyTivoNeedsHelp is offline Old Post 01-26-2004 10:07 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for MyTivoNeedsHelp Find more posts by MyTivoNeedsHelp Add MyTivoNeedsHelp to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
MyTivoNeedsHelp
New Member

Registered: Jan 2004
Location:
Posts: 2

Sorry, forgot to specify....

Only the Napster ones have this issue. The other files seem to
work great! Is it a Digital Rights Management issue?

Initially, I didn't think that would be the case since the conversion is occuring on the host computer. Also, I have a utility from MediaTwins Software called Advanced Encode Decode Tools (which appears to use
Windows Media 9 Runtime as well) that does this conversion
from WMA to Mp3 fine, tho you do have to interactively tell it that the new
file(s) are only going to be used for your own devices that are not WMA compatible. I really prefer the plug-in since it does it on the fly, that way I don't have two sets of files to store/manage.

POST #8 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

morac is offline Old Post 01-27-2004 06:05 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for morac Find more posts by morac Add morac to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
morac
Advanced Member

Registered: Mar 2003
Location: Delran, NJ
Posts: 709

I don't believe the plugin handles .wma's with DRM. You could try asking the author of the plugin.

__________________
Lifetime subscribed TiVo Series 2 (TCD240080) upgraded to 253 hours.
Motorola DCT 2000 (firmware: 07.85, software 70.07) controlled via serial.
USB200M connected to WET54G.

POST #9 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:31 PM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
>>> .wma to .mp3 conversion? <<<

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
Search The Internet
 
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread

Forum Jump:
 
Search this Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.8
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.
Page generated in 0.05151391 seconds (87.59% PHP - 12.41% MySQL) with 20 queries.


Spider History Index