TiVo Community Forum Archive 1
READ ONLY ARCHIVES

Welcome to the TiVo Community Forum Archive
This archive covers threads on TiVo Community Forum that have not been posted to from the start until June 30, 2004.  Any thread that has a post made to it between 7/1/04 and 12/31/05, that had not been posted to, will be found in Archive 2.
This is a READ ONLY site.

  Search | ARCHIVE 2 | MAIN SITE

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
>>> 2 Tivo HMO Setup Sound Correct <<<

 
Forum Jump:
Search this Thread:
Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread ---> Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
dirtypacman is offline Old Post 06-03-2004 07:49 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for dirtypacman Visit dirtypacman's homepage! Find more posts by dirtypacman Add dirtypacman to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
dirtypacman
Best in Class

Registered: Feb 2004
Location: MA
Posts: 2729

2 Tivo HMO Setup Sound Correct

Ok I have done the necessary research and feel I have the correct information for setting up my HMO with 2 SA Tivos.

I would like to confirm this is correct and what I should expect.

Currently I have (same as my sig)

Pioneer 810 networked via wired ethernet to a 4 port router.
This unit has lifetime on it.
I am adding HMO to this unit once able to do so (after trial i guess)

I need to purchase a second Series 2 SA Tivo.
I need to purchase lifetime or monthly on that unit.
I need to add/purchase HMO for this unit.
I need to add this unit into my wired network.

I will need to pay for Lifetime on both units, I will need to pay for HMO on both units $99 first, $49 second?

That should be it and ill be ready to go----
If any of this information looks incorrect please let me know or if it is correct please post aswell.

Lastly---Anybody selling series 2 Tivo with Lifetime send me a PM.!!!!!

__________________
D-Pacman

1) TIVO Series 2 225 Hour (Upgraded) w/monthly service
2) PIONEER #810H-S (Un-modified)
3) TIVO Series 2 80 Hour (Un-modified)
(#2/3) with Lifetime + networked

HD Comcast /Digital Comcast

Network through Verizon DSL
w/Belkin Router and (2) LinkSys USB200M ethernet adapter

POST #1 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

bedelman is offline Old Post 06-03-2004 07:56 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for bedelman Visit bedelman's homepage! Find more posts by bedelman Add bedelman to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
bedelman
Call me Bob

Registered: Feb 2001
Location: Lakewood, IL, USA
Posts: 2638

You don't need to have lifetime on both (just because one does) -- both units do need to be subscribed though.

HMO is $99 on the first unit and $49 for each additional PVR (unless there's another price special).

You will also need a Ethernet USB adapter for the new unit.

If you find a used Series 2, it's worth noting that HMO is supposed to travel with the unit (at least that's what we've been told in the past). So you'd be best off if you find a Series 2 with lifetime and HMO.

Just so you know... You will not be able to transfer a program from any unit to the Pioneer and have it able to be burned to DVD.

__________________
Bob Edelman

1 Pioneer DVR-810H
2 TiVo Series 2 80 hour (one living with son in college)
1 TiVo Series 2 140 hour
1 Humax DRT-800 DVD Recorder with TiVo
1 Sony SVR-2000 (living with other son in Michigan)

POST #2 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

dirtypacman is offline Old Post 06-03-2004 08:09 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for dirtypacman Visit dirtypacman's homepage! Find more posts by dirtypacman Add dirtypacman to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
dirtypacman
Best in Class

Registered: Feb 2004
Location: MA
Posts: 2729

Ok very good thanks for clarification:

I do not need lifetime on both units. Since I have lifetime on my Pioneer.
I could set up the second tivo with a monthly subscribtion instead.
I just need to have HMO activated on both units.
I do understand I will need to get another ethernet adapter (which btw you helped me get the correct one to start so thanks again)

And I definetly understand only programs recorded by Pioneer Tivo will have option to burn. Other than that program transfers can be made back and forth between the two units.

Now if I could just find that 2nd tivo ---Again PM if your looking to get rid of one!

__________________
D-Pacman

1) TIVO Series 2 225 Hour (Upgraded) w/monthly service
2) PIONEER #810H-S (Un-modified)
3) TIVO Series 2 80 Hour (Un-modified)
(#2/3) with Lifetime + networked

HD Comcast /Digital Comcast

Network through Verizon DSL
w/Belkin Router and (2) LinkSys USB200M ethernet adapter

POST #3 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Georgia Guy is offline Old Post 06-03-2004 11:25 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Georgia Guy Find more posts by Georgia Guy Add Georgia Guy to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Georgia Guy
Early Adapter

Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 244

Why is that?

quote:
Originally posted by bedelman
.. You will not be able to transfer a program from any unit to the Pioneer and have it able to be burned to DVD.


Really? Why is that? The Pioneer looks at the program as copywrite protected? Just curious.

__________________
Tivo S2, 80 hours
Tivo S2, 255 hours
Tivo S2, 132 hours
Sony SVR-2000, 135 hours
3 Linksys USB200M's, Wired Ethernet
Comcast Motorola DCT6208 HD-DVR
Pan. DMR-HS2 DVD Recorder
Mits.HD2000U D-VHS Recorder

POST #4 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

dirtypacman is offline Old Post 06-03-2004 11:32 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for dirtypacman Visit dirtypacman's homepage! Find more posts by dirtypacman Add dirtypacman to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
dirtypacman
Best in Class

Registered: Feb 2004
Location: MA
Posts: 2729

I am not sure of correct answer and Bedelman may post.

I dont think its see its a copy written I just dont think pioneer made the way they write universal like most other tivos. Thats my guess.

__________________
D-Pacman

1) TIVO Series 2 225 Hour (Upgraded) w/monthly service
2) PIONEER #810H-S (Un-modified)
3) TIVO Series 2 80 Hour (Un-modified)
(#2/3) with Lifetime + networked

HD Comcast /Digital Comcast

Network through Verizon DSL
w/Belkin Router and (2) LinkSys USB200M ethernet adapter

POST #5 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

mdscott is offline Old Post 06-04-2004 12:11 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for mdscott Visit mdscott's homepage! Find more posts by mdscott Add mdscott to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
mdscott
TiVo Forum Special Member

Registered: Jun 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1119

It is a question of the specific format required for the digital transfer to the DVD.

mds

__________________
TiVo S2 245 Hrs; S2 80 Hrs
Mixed Wireless/Wired Net
Dell Ispiron XP SP2
Mac G4 867 OS X 10.3.7

POST #6 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

bedelman is offline Old Post 06-04-2004 02:41 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for bedelman Visit bedelman's homepage! Find more posts by bedelman Add bedelman to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
bedelman
Call me Bob

Registered: Feb 2001
Location: Lakewood, IL, USA
Posts: 2638

quote:
Originally posted by mdscott
It is a question of the specific format required for the digital transfer to the DVD.
That's what we've been told is the reason, but then why is a transfer from one Pioneer 810H to another Pioneer 810H not burnable?

I think it's more likely that there is a simple "block" in place to prevent any program that was transferred into the Pioneer from being burned to DVD. It's true that a program recorded on a Series 2 won't have the DVD-compatible bit rate (or something like that), but the programmers took a simple approach and disallowed any program that was transferred into the unit (rather than trying to figure out how to check its format)

__________________
Bob Edelman

1 Pioneer DVR-810H
2 TiVo Series 2 80 hour (one living with son in college)
1 TiVo Series 2 140 hour
1 Humax DRT-800 DVD Recorder with TiVo
1 Sony SVR-2000 (living with other son in Michigan)

POST #7 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:45 AM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
>>> 2 Tivo HMO Setup Sound Correct <<<

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
Search The Internet
 
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread

Forum Jump:
 
Search this Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.8
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.
Page generated in 0.05107093 seconds (89.48% PHP - 10.52% MySQL) with 20 queries.


Spider History Index