TiVo Community Forum Archive 1
READ ONLY ARCHIVES

Welcome to the TiVo Community Forum Archive
This archive covers threads on TiVo Community Forum that have not been posted to from the start until June 30, 2004.  Any thread that has a post made to it between 7/1/04 and 12/31/05, that had not been posted to, will be found in Archive 2.
This is a READ ONLY site.

  Search | ARCHIVE 2 | MAIN SITE

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
>>> ping tivo <<<

 
Forum Jump:
Search this Thread:
Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread ---> Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
newted is offline Old Post 06-13-2004 09:27 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for newted Find more posts by newted Add newted to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
newted
Member

Registered: Jun 2004
Location: MN
Posts: 45

Question ping tivo

how do i ping the tivo?

POST #1 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Hunter Green is offline Old Post 06-14-2004 07:30 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Hunter Green Visit Hunter Green's homepage! Find more posts by Hunter Green Add Hunter Green to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Hunter Green
Curmudgeon

Registered: Feb 2002
Location: People's Republic of Vermont
Posts: 1116

Find out its IP address and then ping that. I.e., same as you ping anything else.

__________________
TiVo Series 2, 226 hours at Basic, v4.0 with HMO
Remember democracy? Kind of nice, wasn't it?

POST #2 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

newted is offline Old Post 06-14-2004 09:46 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for newted Find more posts by newted Add newted to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
newted
Member

Registered: Jun 2004
Location: MN
Posts: 45

SORRY, I HAVE NEVER PINGED ANYTHING... Sorry caps........

can ya walk me through it?

POST #3 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

bud8man is offline Old Post 06-14-2004 11:01 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for bud8man Find more posts by bud8man Add bud8man to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
bud8man
Tivo Evangelist

Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Oakland, NJ
Posts: 296

Ping a TiVo

Once you have figured out the IP address of your TiVo (It should indicate it on the Network Screen) from any PC you would go to the command prompt.
W95/98/98SE
Go to the run line (Start | Run)
and type
command
In Windows XP, follow the same thing and type cmd.
You can use command in XP but cmd has a little more going for it, but is not a feature in W9X.
Once you are in the command prompt, type
ping 192.168.xxx.xxx

the series of three xxx are going to be numbers.
If you left your router to it's default settings chances are the first set of xxx are actually a 0.

The last three sets of numbers again are going to be determined by your network, most likely some where in the 100-105 range depending on the size of your network, and how you set up your range.

Most routers default setting is to start the range at 100, so usually your hard wired computer would be 100, the next computer connected would be 101, and such, leaving TiVo to be the largest number.
Of course, if TiVo is set to find it's own number it could change the number (I think) when another unit "gives up" its number, assuming you are not assigning IP address.

Best bet, assign address and set them up.

Now if only I could get TiVo to join my workgroup...or if I could join its workgroup things would be....

__________________
TiVo Series 2 80 Hour - AVCast Channel 78
TiVo Series 2 40 Hour - AVCast Channel 80
Panasonic DVD Recorder - AVCast Channel 76
Wired Together for MRV & HMO

POST #4 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Hunter Green is offline Old Post 06-15-2004 12:09 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Hunter Green Visit Hunter Green's homepage! Find more posts by Hunter Green Add Hunter Green to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Hunter Green
Curmudgeon

Registered: Feb 2002
Location: People's Republic of Vermont
Posts: 1116

I bet if you told us why you were trying to ping it, you could do the same thing a lot more easily some other way, if you don't know how to ping.

__________________
TiVo Series 2, 226 hours at Basic, v4.0 with HMO
Remember democracy? Kind of nice, wasn't it?

POST #5 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

bud8man is offline Old Post 06-15-2004 12:27 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for bud8man Find more posts by bud8man Add bud8man to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
bud8man
Tivo Evangelist

Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Oakland, NJ
Posts: 296

ping this...

heck with pinging...i want to ftp the thing...check it out...from the inside.
Allow it to use my external harddrive for more capacity...serve up home movies from the pc to it...but i don't think i can talk about those things here...

__________________
TiVo Series 2 80 Hour - AVCast Channel 78
TiVo Series 2 40 Hour - AVCast Channel 80
Panasonic DVD Recorder - AVCast Channel 76
Wired Together for MRV & HMO

POST #6 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

bitTraveler is offline Old Post 06-15-2004 03:11 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for bitTraveler Find more posts by bitTraveler Add bitTraveler to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
bitTraveler
New Member

Registered: Mar 2002
Location:
Posts: 24

Re: ping tivo

quote:
Originally posted by newted
how do i ping the tivo?


Have your TiVo record Monty Python's "The Meaning of Life," hit play "and uh, get the machine that goes *PING*."

Hope that helps!

bit

__________________
Series 2 60 hr. (USB/Ethernet)
Replay 5040

POST #7 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

newted is offline Old Post 06-15-2004 03:26 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for newted Find more posts by newted Add newted to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
newted
Member

Registered: Jun 2004
Location: MN
Posts: 45

thanks but, ping from the computer..........

POST #8 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

bud8man is offline Old Post 06-15-2004 05:32 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for bud8man Find more posts by bud8man Add bud8man to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
bud8man
Tivo Evangelist

Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Oakland, NJ
Posts: 296

You mean ping from craigs tivo page?
http://www.xse.com/leres/tivo/downloads/

__________________
TiVo Series 2 80 Hour - AVCast Channel 78
TiVo Series 2 40 Hour - AVCast Channel 80
Panasonic DVD Recorder - AVCast Channel 76
Wired Together for MRV & HMO

POST #9 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:07 AM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
>>> ping tivo <<<

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
Search The Internet
 
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread

Forum Jump:
 
Search this Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.8
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.
Page generated in 0.05244803 seconds (87.90% PHP - 12.10% MySQL) with 20 queries.


Spider History Index