TiVo Community Forum Archive 1
READ ONLY ARCHIVES

Welcome to the TiVo Community Forum Archive
This archive covers threads on TiVo Community Forum that have not been posted to from the start until June 30, 2004.  Any thread that has a post made to it between 7/1/04 and 12/31/05, that had not been posted to, will be found in Archive 2.
This is a READ ONLY site.

  Search | ARCHIVE 2 | MAIN SITE

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
>>> a couple small HMO problems, please help! <<<

 
Forum Jump:
Search this Thread:
Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread ---> Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Keith_R90210 is offline Old Post 06-14-2004 08:32 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Keith_R90210 Find more posts by Keith_R90210 Add Keith_R90210 to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Keith_R90210
Member

Registered: Jul 2003
Location: FL
Posts: 137

a couple small HMO problems, please help!

Hey there, I've been playing with the new HMO option since yesterday and I think it's a great way to play your music and view photo's from your computer in the comfort of your living room. However, I've run into two minor annoyances which I'm not sure can be solved but it would be great if they could be.

1. I've noticed that when in shuffle mode and a little bit when just selecting a track to play that my TiVo usually drops out or pauses the audio very briefly (like a half a second or a second) at the very beginning of the song. The rest of the song plays great w/ no more drop outs or pauses. This is very annoying, is there any way to solve this? what is causing it; my network or the TiVo?

2. Some of my tracks are WMA's which don't seem to be recognized by the HMO program, is there anything that can be done about this? any third party software for my computer or something?

thanks!

__________________
205 Hour TiVo Series 2


-Keith-

POST #1 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

morac is offline Old Post 06-14-2004 11:06 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for morac Find more posts by morac Add morac to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
morac
Advanced Member

Registered: Mar 2003
Location: Delran, NJ
Posts: 709

1. I haven't noticed any problems with audio drop outs when starting to play songs. The music has to stream from the TiVo, but unless you are using very high bit rates for your mp3 files there really shouldn't be a noticeable pause when playing songs.

2. If you use TiVo's Desktop software then you can download this plugin which lets you play WMA files. I'd also recommend this plugin if you use Windows Media Player.

__________________
Lifetime subscribed TiVo Series 2 (TCD240080) upgraded to 253 hours.
Motorola DCT 2000 (firmware: 07.85, software 70.07) controlled via serial.
USB200M connected to WET54G.

POST #2 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Keith_R90210 is offline Old Post 06-15-2004 01:16 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Keith_R90210 Find more posts by Keith_R90210 Add Keith_R90210 to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Keith_R90210
Member

Registered: Jul 2003
Location: FL
Posts: 137

Thanks for the plugin link; I'll have to try it.

I've noticed that the drop out problem doesn't happen on every track and of the ones that it does happen on it seems like most have variable bit rates that change while the song plays. I use 128 kbps files mostly, should those work pretty good?

__________________
205 Hour TiVo Series 2


-Keith-

POST #3 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Keith_R90210 is offline Old Post 06-15-2004 03:38 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Keith_R90210 Find more posts by Keith_R90210 Add Keith_R90210 to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Keith_R90210
Member

Registered: Jul 2003
Location: FL
Posts: 137

The WMA tool works great. Problem solved, however, I'm still having a slight pause on the beginning of most of my tracks (maybe all). I'm not sure if it's the bitrate or not. After the beginning of the song though it plays normal. Maybe it's normal and is part of the streaming process. Any other thoughts on this?

__________________
205 Hour TiVo Series 2


-Keith-

POST #4 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:15 PM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
>>> a couple small HMO problems, please help! <<<

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
Search The Internet
 
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread

Forum Jump:
 
Search this Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.8
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.
Page generated in 0.04454994 seconds (87.53% PHP - 12.47% MySQL) with 20 queries.


Spider History Index