TiVo Community Forum Archive 1
READ ONLY ARCHIVES

Welcome to the TiVo Community Forum Archive
This archive covers threads on TiVo Community Forum that have not been posted to from the start until June 30, 2004.  Any thread that has a post made to it between 7/1/04 and 12/31/05, that had not been posted to, will be found in Archive 2.
This is a READ ONLY site.

  Search | ARCHIVE 2 | MAIN SITE

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
>>> Netgear Adapter <<<

 
Forum Jump:
Search this Thread:
Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread ---> Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
dugf is offline Old Post 06-17-2004 11:24 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for dugf Find more posts by dugf Add dugf to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
dugf
New Member

Registered: Jan 2004
Location:
Posts: 2

Netgear Adapter

Hello All,
I have been reading some of the threads about the setup of a wireless network with TiVo and the Home Media Option... and some of the horror story's.

At this time I would like to get a Wireless G Router and USB G Adapter to setup my Tivo and to connect my laptop. Right now I was looking at the a couple of options:

1. Linksys G router with the microsoft mn-710 usb adapter

0r

2. Netgear G router and Netgear USB G adapter

Does anyone know of any issues with either of these setups?

Thanks in advance!
-D

POST #1 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

dirtypacman is offline Old Post 06-17-2004 11:33 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for dirtypacman Visit dirtypacman's homepage! Find more posts by dirtypacman Add dirtypacman to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
dirtypacman
Best in Class

Registered: Feb 2004
Location: MA
Posts: 2729

The most successful ethernet adapter that I have read in the forum is a
Linksys USB200M i believe.

I hear people having problems wiht the Netgear but I dont know what model they were using.

If you can do the wiring in your home, its my opinion, that wired is better than wireless for transfer speeds.

__________________
D-Pacman

1) TIVO Series 2 225 Hour (Upgraded) w/monthly service
2) PIONEER #810H-S (Un-modified)
3) TIVO Series 2 80 Hour (Un-modified)
(#2/3) with Lifetime + networked

HD Comcast /Digital Comcast

Network through Verizon DSL
w/Belkin Router and (2) LinkSys USB200M ethernet adapter

POST #2 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

jaythebull is offline Old Post 06-18-2004 10:16 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for jaythebull Find more posts by jaythebull Add jaythebull to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
jaythebull
New Member

Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 10

I just networked tivo via the usb200m and it was flawless. I powered down tivo hooked up the ethernet card, turned tivo back on ... and that was it. It used DHCP to grab an IP and the subnet - it was completely hands off.

POST #3 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

dirtypacman is offline Old Post 06-18-2004 10:21 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for dirtypacman Visit dirtypacman's homepage! Find more posts by dirtypacman Add dirtypacman to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
dirtypacman
Best in Class

Registered: Feb 2004
Location: MA
Posts: 2729

I like it alot!

Good job and welcome to Network TIvolution!

__________________
D-Pacman

1) TIVO Series 2 225 Hour (Upgraded) w/monthly service
2) PIONEER #810H-S (Un-modified)
3) TIVO Series 2 80 Hour (Un-modified)
(#2/3) with Lifetime + networked

HD Comcast /Digital Comcast

Network through Verizon DSL
w/Belkin Router and (2) LinkSys USB200M ethernet adapter

POST #4 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

simonalope is offline Old Post 06-19-2004 12:05 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for simonalope Find more posts by simonalope Add simonalope to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
simonalope
Senior Member

Registered: Jun 2004
Location:
Posts: 422

quote:
Originally posted by jaythebull
I just networked tivo via the usb200m and it was flawless. I powered down tivo hooked up the ethernet card, turned tivo back on ... and that was it. It used DHCP to grab an IP and the subnet - it was completely hands off.


I didn't even power down my TiVo when I plugged in the ethernet adapter (Netgear FA120, USB 2.0, wired) and it also figured out the IP/subnet on its own and configured itself... awesome.

POST #5 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:43 AM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
>>> Netgear Adapter <<<

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
Search The Internet
 
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread

Forum Jump:
 
Search this Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.8
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.
Page generated in 0.04586005 seconds (86.62% PHP - 13.38% MySQL) with 20 queries.


Spider History Index