TiVo Community Forum Archive 1
READ ONLY ARCHIVES

Welcome to the TiVo Community Forum Archive
This archive covers threads on TiVo Community Forum that have not been posted to from the start until June 30, 2004.  Any thread that has a post made to it between 7/1/04 and 12/31/05, that had not been posted to, will be found in Archive 2.
This is a READ ONLY site.

  Search | ARCHIVE 2 | MAIN SITE

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo UK
>>> TiVo Overides Channel Selection <<<

 
Forum Jump:
Search this Thread:
Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread ---> Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Psioneer is offline Old Post 06-20-2004 02:58 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Psioneer Find more posts by Psioneer Add Psioneer to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Psioneer
New Member

Registered: Aug 2002
Location:
Posts: 16

TiVo Overides Channel Selection

Can one of the experts explain why TiVo overides my choice of a terrestial channel via rf and selects the satelite equivalent?

For example I wanted to record something on Ch5 whilst watching something else 'live' on Sky, so I set up TiVo to record via channel 35, it was on the To Do List as channel 35 but when the time came, TiVo activated the Sky box and started recording from channel 105.

The only way I seem to be able to force my choice on the TiVo is to remove the satelite version from the channel line up.

What am I missing, what should I be doing, so that I can record from terrestial and watch satelite live...?

POST #1 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

BrianHughes is offline Old Post 06-20-2004 03:16 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for BrianHughes Find more posts by BrianHughes Add BrianHughes to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
BrianHughes
Pedant sans chapeau.

Registered: Jan 2001
Location: N.Ireland
Posts: 125

Your Tivo will always choose the satellite or cable channels over the terrestrial ones as it will always record the better quality source.

The only way around it is as you've already mentioned to remove it from the channels you watch.

__________________
Stercus accidet!

POST #2 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

iankb is offline Old Post 06-20-2004 03:18 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for iankb Find more posts by iankb Add iankb to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
iankb
TiVo Forum Special Member

Registered: Oct 2000
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 4051

If you have two channels selected in 'Channels I Receive' that have the same callsign (i.e. the alphabetic code for the channel) then it will always select the best source (i.e. the SCART connection). I believe that the only way to override this is to press record while actually viewing the required channel.

__________________
Ian.

For gold text on leather in TiVoWeb, try the redbook, bluebook, greenbook and blackbook themes, now updated with button menus

POST #3 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:55 PM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
>>> TiVo Overides Channel Selection <<<

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo UK
Search The Internet
 
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread

Forum Jump:
 
Search this Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.8
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.
Page generated in 0.04139805 seconds (90.47% PHP - 9.53% MySQL) with 20 queries.


Spider History Index