TiVo Community Forum Archive 1
READ ONLY ARCHIVES

Welcome to the TiVo Community Forum Archive
This archive covers threads on TiVo Community Forum that have not been posted to from the start until June 30, 2004.  Any thread that has a post made to it between 7/1/04 and 12/31/05, that had not been posted to, will be found in Archive 2.
This is a READ ONLY site.

  Search | ARCHIVE 2 | MAIN SITE

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > DIRECTV Receiver with TiVo
>>> Transponder and Signal Question <<<

 
Forum Jump:
Search this Thread:
Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread ---> Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
WaarrEagle is offline Old Post 06-26-2004 05:49 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for WaarrEagle Find more posts by WaarrEagle Add WaarrEagle to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
WaarrEagle
New Member

Registered: Jun 2004
Location:
Posts: 17

Transponder and Signal Question

I have not gotten my DTV Receiver w/ Tivo installed yet but I have some questions about my signal strength. I am currently using an RCA receiver that gets a signal strength of 100 on transponder 18 but much less on some of the others. I have been experiencing rain fade over the last few days and was wondering if I could aim my dish better. If I get a 100 on one transponder is it possible to aim my dish any better? Thanks!

POST #1 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

stevel is offline Old Post 06-26-2004 06:36 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for stevel Visit stevel's homepage! Find more posts by stevel Add stevel to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
stevel
Dumb Blond

Registered: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 7476

It's more likely that the transponder you're getting 100 on is a "spot beam" which tends to be stronger than the national signal transponders.

I don't know if the "meter" will read above 100. You should try for at least 90 across all transponders for your area (some spots for other regions will be weak or zero.)

__________________
Steve

One thousand three hundred thirty-three, zero

POST #2 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

formulaben is offline Old Post 06-26-2004 11:08 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for formulaben Visit formulaben's homepage! Find more posts by formulaben Add formulaben to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
formulaben
Formula Tivo Racing

Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 69

Transponder 4 and 12 are weak, AFAIK.

__________________
I want HMO for the HDVR2

POST #3 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

rlj5242 is offline Old Post 06-26-2004 05:23 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for rlj5242 Find more posts by rlj5242 Add rlj5242 to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
rlj5242
Advanced Member

Registered: Dec 2000
Location: Southaven, MS
Posts: 861

quote:
Transponder 4 and 12 are weak, AFAIK.
Spotbeams. I'm under transponder 4 and it reads 100 on my receivers.

-Robert

POST #4 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

WaarrEagle is offline Old Post 06-26-2004 08:55 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for WaarrEagle Find more posts by WaarrEagle Add WaarrEagle to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
WaarrEagle
New Member

Registered: Jun 2004
Location:
Posts: 17

Here are my signal strengths for each transponder:
1- 84
2- 88
3- 83
4- 0
5- 82
6- 91
7- 81
8- 88
9- 82
10- 88
11- 77
12- 0
13- 79
14- 89
15- 76
16- 88
17- 79
18- 100
19- 79
20- 0
21- 81
22- 90
23- 80
24- 88
25- 80
26- 85
27- 73
28- 96
29- 87
30- 77
31- 88
32- 84
Does this look OK or should I have the installer realign it when they install Tivo?

POST #5 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

JimSpence is offline Old Post 06-26-2004 09:08 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for JimSpence Visit JimSpence's homepage! Find more posts by JimSpence Add JimSpence to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
JimSpence
TiVo Forum Special Member

Registered: Sep 2001
Location: Binghamton, NY
Posts: 12718

The spot beams on 101 are 4, 12, 18, 20, 26, & 28. You will get signal strengths that vary from 0 to 100 depending on which ones you are under. Pick a low value TP, not a spot beam, and use that to adjust your alignment. From your list, I'd pick one in the 70's and try to get that as high as your can. I assume you have the round dual LNB (one LNB with dual outputs) dish.

__________________
Jim
Sony SAT T60 (146 hrs), DSR6000, HTL-HD HD receiver, DVDR985 - DVD recorder, URC-6131 Universal Remote
DirecTV since '96, Dish Network for superstations (WB/UPN) only
Waivers for all four nets are in place.
I'm suspicious of newbies, but tolerant!
And, just because I have a bunch of posts doesn't mean I'm always right.
Add 1231 for accurate post count.

POST #6 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:39 AM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
>>> Transponder and Signal Question <<<

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > DIRECTV Receiver with TiVo
Search The Internet
 
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread

Forum Jump:
 
Search this Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.8
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.
Page generated in 0.04920197 seconds (86.87% PHP - 13.13% MySQL) with 20 queries.


Spider History Index