TiVo Community Forum Archive 1
READ ONLY ARCHIVES

Welcome to the TiVo Community Forum Archive
This archive covers threads on TiVo Community Forum that have not been posted to from the start until June 30, 2004.  Any thread that has a post made to it between 7/1/04 and 12/31/05, that had not been posted to, will be found in Archive 2.
This is a READ ONLY site.

  Search | ARCHIVE 2 | MAIN SITE

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > DIRECTV Receiver with TiVo
>>> Using DirectTiVo with DirectTV for multiple tenants in apartment building <<<

 
Forum Jump:
Search this Thread:
Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread ---> Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
cheesy is offline Old Post 06-26-2004 04:30 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for cheesy Find more posts by cheesy Add cheesy to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
cheesy
New Member

Registered: Jun 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA / SF Bay Area, CA / Seattle, WA
Posts: 2

Using DirectTiVo with DirectTV for multiple tenants in apartment building

The housing I'm living in next year has DirectTV in all the rooms, with DirectTV boxes provided. I'm not sure what's special about this system, but I'm wondering if anyone knows if I would be able to use a standard Philips DSR7000 with this system and what would it take to get working (a call to DirectTV and/or TiVo?)

Additionally, I don't know if I will have a landline phone in my room, is there any other way to get updates, like through a USB Ethernet adapter?

And finally, currently the hard drive in the unit is busted, and I have an 80GB hard drive I could use to replace it, but how would I get the software onto the new hard drive if the old one is broken?

Thanks

__________________
-tom

POST #1 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

pkscout is offline Old Post 06-26-2004 06:37 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for pkscout Find more posts by pkscout Add pkscout to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
pkscout
TiVo Forum Special Member

Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1031

Re: Using DirectTiVo with DirectTV for multiple tenants in apartment building

quote:
Originally posted by cheesy
The housing I'm living in next year has DirectTV in all the rooms, with DirectTV boxes provided. I'm not sure what's special about this system, but I'm wondering if anyone knows if I would be able to use a standard Philips DSR7000 with this system and what would it take to get working (a call to DirectTV and/or TiVo?)



I doubt there is anything special about it, but if they only have one line in each room then you'll only be able to record one show at a time, as you need two satellite feeds to use the dual tuner functionality (and no, you can't just split the line).

quote:

Additionally, I don't know if I will have a landline phone in my room, is there any other way to get updates, like through a USB Ethernet adapter?



There aren't any "offical" alternate ways. You could use a wireless phone jack to get a connection. There is also information in the Underground section on using the serial port of the DTiVo to get a PPP connection through a computer.

quote:

And finally, currently the hard drive in the unit is busted, and I have an 80GB hard drive I could use to replace it, but how would I get the software onto the new hard drive if the old one is broken?



There is information in the Upgrade Center section on how to replace the drive in your TiVo. If you decide that's too much work (or you don't understand it), you can go to places like Weakenss or 9th Tee to purchase a drive that has the software pre-installed. All you have to do is drop it in and power the unit on.

POST #2 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

JimSpence is offline Old Post 06-26-2004 09:18 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for JimSpence Visit JimSpence's homepage! Find more posts by JimSpence Add JimSpence to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
JimSpence
TiVo Forum Special Member

Registered: Sep 2001
Location: Binghamton, NY
Posts: 12718

What might be special is that the DirecTV line into the apartments might be stacked. That's the reason for the DirecTV boxes being provided. They are capable of destacking the signal. If you connect a regular receiver to that line you will only get the odd transponders.

To enable a DirecTV DVR with dual tuners, you need a high frequency splitter and two destackers.

Member feldon23 can fill in the details.

__________________
Jim
Sony SAT T60 (146 hrs), DSR6000, HTL-HD HD receiver, DVDR985 - DVD recorder, URC-6131 Universal Remote
DirecTV since '96, Dish Network for superstations (WB/UPN) only
Waivers for all four nets are in place.
I'm suspicious of newbies, but tolerant!
And, just because I have a bunch of posts doesn't mean I'm always right.
Add 1231 for accurate post count.

POST #3 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

cheesy is offline Old Post 06-27-2004 02:06 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for cheesy Find more posts by cheesy Add cheesy to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
cheesy
New Member

Registered: Jun 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA / SF Bay Area, CA / Seattle, WA
Posts: 2

Re: Re: Using DirectTiVo with DirectTV for multiple tenants in apartment building

quote:
Originally posted by pkscout
I doubt there is anything special about it, but if they only have one line in each room then you'll only be able to record one show at a time, as you need two satellite feeds to use the dual tuner functionality (and no, you can't just split the line).



There aren't any "offical" alternate ways. You could use a wireless phone jack to get a connection. There is also information in the Underground section on using the serial port of the DTiVo to get a PPP connection through a computer.



There is information in the Upgrade Center section on how to replace the drive in your TiVo. If you decide that's too much work (or you don't understand it), you can go to places like Weakenss or 9th Tee to purchase a drive that has the software pre-installed. All you have to do is drop it in and power the unit on.



I read a few topics about people who had used a neighbors phone line to activate the box, then didn't need to hook it up except for software updates since the programming info comes over the satellite. if I did that, does the box need to be hooked up to a dish at the time of activating it?


For the hard drive replacement, I think I can follow the instructions ok, but what about the software? I don't have a working TiVo drive i can use to get the TiVo software off of...are there other ways of getting it?


quote:
What might be special is that the DirecTV line into the apartments might be stacked. That's the reason for the DirecTV boxes being provided. They are capable of destacking the signal. If you connect a regular receiver to that line you will only get the odd transponders.

To enable a DirecTV DVR with dual tuners, you need a high frequency splitter and two destackers.

Member feldon23 can fill in the details.


high frequency splitter and two destackers...that sounds expensive...is it worth the trouble/cost?

__________________
-tom

POST #4 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

threeonparfive is offline Old Post 06-27-2004 10:46 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for threeonparfive Find more posts by threeonparfive Add threeonparfive to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
threeonparfive
New Member

Registered: Jun 2004
Location:
Posts: 12

Re: Re: Re: Using DirectTiVo with DirectTV for multiple tenants in apartment building

quote:
Originally posted by cheesy

For the hard drive replacement, I think I can follow the instructions ok, but what about the software? I don't have a working TiVo drive i can use to get the TiVo software off of...are there other ways of getting it?



Go to the 9th tee website and take a look at the InstantCake CD. By the sound of it, and the fact that you have to pick your model to order, I believe the software is probably on the CD.

Your other option would be to find somebody with a DSR7000 who has taken an image backup of their unit and sweet talk them into sending it to you.

POST #5 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:51 AM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
>>> Using DirectTiVo with DirectTV for multiple tenants in apartment building <<<

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > DIRECTV Receiver with TiVo
Search The Internet
 
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread

Forum Jump:
 
Search this Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.8
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.
Page generated in 0.05028296 seconds (88.34% PHP - 11.66% MySQL) with 20 queries.


Spider History Index