TiVo Community Forum Archive 1
READ ONLY ARCHIVES

Welcome to the TiVo Community Forum Archive
This archive covers threads on TiVo Community Forum that have not been posted to from the start until June 30, 2004.  Any thread that has a post made to it between 7/1/04 and 12/31/05, that had not been posted to, will be found in Archive 2.
This is a READ ONLY site.

  Search | ARCHIVE 2 | MAIN SITE

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > DIRECTV Receiver with TiVo
>>> Need advice - have HD D* receiver but want SD Tivo too <<<

 
Forum Jump:
Search this Thread:
Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread ---> Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Michigan Golfer is offline Old Post 06-28-2004 11:41 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Michigan Golfer Find more posts by Michigan Golfer Add Michigan Golfer to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Michigan Golfer
New Member

Registered: Jun 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2

Need advice - have HD D* receiver but want SD Tivo too

Hey all,

Long time lurker, first time poster.

Here is my scoop:

I recently upgraded to a DirecTiVo for my family room (Philips DSR704), and I really like it, so I want to get one for my basement home theatre.

I have a Hitachi 57S500 RPTV in the basement hooked up to a Samsung SIR TS360 HD DirecTV receiver. I would like to get a TiVo unit for the basement as well, but 1) I don't want to spend the ~$1000 for the HD DirecTiVo right now and 2) I don't want to give up my Samsung SIR TS360 because it works great - (built-in OTA HD tuner, DirecTV HD capable) - it has had no issues.

Basically, I would like some standard DirecTiVo functionality in the basement but still retaining my DirecTV HD and OTA HD functionality - the TiVo recording can still be standard (non-HD).

What are my options?

Do they make a receiver that has built-in OTA HD tuner, and is DirecTV HD capable, but also contains non-HD DirecTiVo recording functionality?

Or should I just retain my current HD DirectV receier, and get a StandAlone TiVo receiver (even though the recording quality and other features are not has good as the DirecTiVo units)?

Thanks in advance.

POST #1 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

ycrazyy is offline Old Post 06-28-2004 11:55 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for ycrazyy Find more posts by ycrazyy Add ycrazyy to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
ycrazyy
Big Perm

Registered: Dec 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 380

Well the only way to avoid paying the $1000 or so for the HD-DTiVo (which does everything you want, including OTA-HD and regular DTV channels) is to call up DTV and I guess go through customer retention and beg for a discount of some sort. Other than that, you are s* out of luck.

__________________
Phillips HDR312 30hrs
Sony SVR-2000 30hrs
SA Series2 80hrs w/HMO
SA Series2 150hrs w/HMO
Hughes HDVR2(3) 80hrs w/4.0.1b and HMO
Samsung SIR-4040R 141hrs w/4.0.1b and HMO

POST #2 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

rminsk is offline Old Post 06-29-2004 12:24 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for rminsk Find more posts by rminsk Add rminsk to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
rminsk
TiVo Forum Special Member

Registered: Jun 2002
Location:
Posts: 2311

Why not buy a standard DirecTiVo and use a second input on the TV. The first input will be your HD receiver and your second will be the DirecTiVo. You will hav to run 2 more satellite lines (or 1 if you can live with a single tuner) to the basement.

The DirecTiVo will only cost you the receiver mirror fee of $5. A standalone TiVo will cost you $12 a month for a subscription.

POST #3 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

TrojanHorse is offline Old Post 06-29-2004 12:53 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for TrojanHorse Find more posts by TrojanHorse Add TrojanHorse to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
TrojanHorse
Time Bandit

Registered: Mar 2003
Location: Whittier, CA
Posts: 278

Yep - that's what I do. I have 5 cable lines into my den now... 3 from the satellite dish, 1 from the OTA antenna and 1 from regular old free cable TV for those "just in case" days and so I can play with PIP.

It's not so bad, but I find myself pining for more HD program material.

POST #4 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Arkie is offline Old Post 06-29-2004 12:54 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Arkie Find more posts by Arkie Add Arkie to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Arkie
New Member

Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 15

I have a DirecTivo and a HD reciever hooked up to my 65 inch mitsubishi.

I have 3 sat lines to the TV.

I even connected the Tivo to the HD reciever to upconvert it to a 1080i picture.

works fine for me......

POST #5 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

RDJR is offline Old Post 06-29-2004 12:58 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for RDJR Find more posts by RDJR Add RDJR to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
RDJR
Member

Registered: Mar 2001
Location: NY, US
Posts: 63

I have the set up rminsk describes on my HD RPTV. I have three lines coming in. Two from the basement multiswitch to the SD Directivo and one line straight from the ms on the dish to the HTL-HD. Directivo is hooked up to the tv w/ s-video, HD receiver is hooked up using DVI cable. Works like a charm until the price on the HD-Dtivo drops and D* adds more HD content.

POST #6 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

JimSpence is offline Old Post 06-29-2004 01:22 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for JimSpence Visit JimSpence's homepage! Find more posts by JimSpence Add JimSpence to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
JimSpence
TiVo Forum Special Member

Registered: Sep 2001
Location: Binghamton, NY
Posts: 12718

My sentiments exactly. I watch HD live for now with my HTL-HD. When prices on the HDTiVo drop then I may get one.

__________________
Jim
Sony SAT T60 (146 hrs), DSR6000, HTL-HD HD receiver, DVDR985 - DVD recorder, URC-6131 Universal Remote
DirecTV since '96, Dish Network for superstations (WB/UPN) only
Waivers for all four nets are in place.
I'm suspicious of newbies, but tolerant!
And, just because I have a bunch of posts doesn't mean I'm always right.
Add 1231 for accurate post count.

POST #7 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Chris Gerhard is offline Old Post 06-29-2004 01:34 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Chris Gerhard Find more posts by Chris Gerhard Add Chris Gerhard to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Chris Gerhard
TiVo Forum Special Member

Registered: Apr 2002
Location: MO
Posts: 2929

Re: Need advice - have HD D* receiver but want SD Tivo too

quote:
Originally posted by Michigan Golfer
I have a Hitachi 57S500 RPTV in the basement hooked up to a Samsung SIR TS360 HD DirecTV receiver. I would like to get a TiVo unit for the basement as well, but 1) I don't want to spend the ~$1000 for the HD DirecTiVo right now and 2) I don't want to give up my Samsung SIR TS360 because it works great - (built-in OTA HD tuner, DirecTV HD capable) - it has had no issues.


You are fortunate to have a properly working SIR-TS360. Mine suffered from frequent dropouts but otherwise was great. I had to swap it for a Hughes HTL-HD which has worked fine but if not for the dropouts, the Samsung would have been preferable.

Chris

POST #8 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Michigan Golfer is offline Old Post 06-29-2004 02:33 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Michigan Golfer Find more posts by Michigan Golfer Add Michigan Golfer to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Michigan Golfer
New Member

Registered: Jun 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2

Won't I have to pay $5 for the extra DirecTV receiver and another $5 for the extra TiVo service? I already pay $5 for the TiVo service for the unit in my Family Room.

Having 3 DirecTV receivers for 2 TVs is kind of a bummer But I guess it is still cheaper than the getting the SA, paying a $12 service fee, and getting lower quality.

On another note, I am assuming I cannot record any HD programs on the Standard DirecTiVo (even as SD), since the receiver won't be able to tune to those HD stations (both OTA and DirecTV stations) - is this correct?

Finally, which is better if I do get another DirecTiVo receiver: 1) connecting it directly to the TV, or 2) going through the my Samsung HD DirecTV receiver (it has an S-Video input)?

Thanks for all the responses.

POST #9 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

rminsk is offline Old Post 06-29-2004 02:43 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for rminsk Find more posts by rminsk Add rminsk to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
rminsk
TiVo Forum Special Member

Registered: Jun 2002
Location:
Posts: 2311

The TiVo service charge of $5 applies to the first 8 DirecTiVos on your account. So no, you will not pay an extra TiVo service charge only the receiver mirroring charge.

You will not be even able to tune to the HD channels.

Does the Samsung up convert the SD to HD? Do a test and see which one looks best.

POST #10 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Bigg is offline Old Post 06-29-2004 06:34 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Bigg Find more posts by Bigg Add Bigg to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Bigg
Advanced Member

Registered: Oct 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 830

has anyone ver tried 9 DTiVos. I know someone here has 8, but I don't know if anyone has ever tried 9? They say for all on account, but they also say 6 recs maximum, but they don;t enforce that.

__________________
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime Activated 4/11/04

POST #11 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:54 AM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
>>> Need advice - have HD D* receiver but want SD Tivo too <<<

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > DIRECTV Receiver with TiVo
Search The Internet
 
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread

Forum Jump:
 
Search this Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.8
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.
Page generated in 0.05712104 seconds (87.87% PHP - 12.13% MySQL) with 20 queries.


Spider History Index