TiVo Community Forum Archive 1
READ ONLY ARCHIVES

Welcome to the TiVo Community Forum Archive
This archive covers threads on TiVo Community Forum that have not been posted to from the start until June 30, 2004.  Any thread that has a post made to it between 7/1/04 and 12/31/05, that had not been posted to, will be found in Archive 2.
This is a READ ONLY site.

  Search | ARCHIVE 2 | MAIN SITE

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
>>> Drive too small? <<<

 
Forum Jump:
Search this Thread:
Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread ---> Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
RedLance is offline Old Post 06-19-2004 02:06 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for RedLance Find more posts by RedLance Add RedLance to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
RedLance
New Member

Registered: Feb 2002
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 7

Drive too small?

I just got done messing with my DVR39. It would get stuck on the welcome screen.

I removed the drive, and hooked it up to a computer. Booted the mfstools cd, and did a backup. It did so without any errors.

Now I want to restore this image to the exact same drive that it came from.

When I try, it says the backup target is not large enough. I'm using:

mfsrestore -bzpi /mnt/dos/tivo.bak /dev/hdb

with my tivo drive on primary slave

I tested the drive, with the Maxtor software, and it passed. I also did a full low level format on it.

Thanks!
RedLance

POST #1 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Robert S is offline Old Post 06-19-2004 07:30 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Robert S Find more posts by Robert S Add Robert S to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Robert S
TiVo Forum Special Member

Registered: Jul 2002
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Posts: 9266

That wouldn't normally be a problem.

Is the drive detecting as the correct size?

Do "dmesg | grep hd". The drive should detect at about 40026Mb.

__________________
Please do not PM me asking for TiVo backups. I don't have any.

POST #2 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

RedLance is offline Old Post 06-20-2004 09:52 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for RedLance Find more posts by RedLance Add RedLance to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
RedLance
New Member

Registered: Feb 2002
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 7

dmesg | grep hd shows it as 33820 MB

POST #3 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Robert S is offline Old Post 06-20-2004 08:49 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for Robert S Find more posts by Robert S Add Robert S to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Robert S
TiVo Forum Special Member

Registered: Jul 2002
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Posts: 9266

There you go, then. You either have the capacity limit jumper on or you have a BIOS issue.

__________________
Please do not PM me asking for TiVo backups. I don't have any.

POST #4 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

RedLance is offline Old Post 06-21-2004 11:19 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for RedLance Find more posts by RedLance Add RedLance to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
RedLance
New Member

Registered: Feb 2002
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 7

Well, I just checked and I don't have the cap limit jumper on...and it's a duron 1000, so the BIOS shouldn't be a problem...It reported that same size before I did the backup, if that makes a difference.

Could it be that the image is corrupt? I got it off the same drive that I am restoring to. The drive was in an unknown state when I pulled the image. The Tivo would not boot from it before I pulled the image, just stuck at welcome screen.

So, could my image be bad, and that's why it's not working?

Last edited by RedLance on 06-21-2004 at 11:50 AM

POST #5 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

RedLance is offline Old Post 06-27-2004 07:46 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for RedLance Find more posts by RedLance Add RedLance to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
RedLance
New Member

Registered: Feb 2002
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 7

Turns out it was that damn jumper. I remembered reading someplace that the diagram on the drive is backwards or upside down or whatever, so I tried again, and now it works fine.

Thanks!


Brian

POST #6 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:37 AM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
>>> Drive too small? <<<

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
Search The Internet
 
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread

Forum Jump:
 
Search this Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.8
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.
Page generated in 0.04598904 seconds (88.08% PHP - 11.92% MySQL) with 19 queries.


Spider History Index