TiVo Community Forum Archive 1
READ ONLY ARCHIVES

Welcome to the TiVo Community Forum Archive
This archive covers threads on TiVo Community Forum that have not been posted to from the start until June 30, 2004.  Any thread that has a post made to it between 7/1/04 and 12/31/05, that had not been posted to, will be found in Archive 2.
This is a READ ONLY site.

  Search | ARCHIVE 2 | MAIN SITE

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > HDTV TiVo Powered PVRs
>>> Can you test a HDMI output without an HDMI TV? <<<

 
Forum Jump:
Search this Thread:
Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread ---> Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
m_jraj is offline Old Post 06-25-2004 08:20 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for m_jraj Find more posts by m_jraj Add m_jraj to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
m_jraj
Member

Registered: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 49

Can you test a HDMI output without an HDMI TV?

I am about to receive my HD Tivo, but only have a component HD TV. If the HDMI does not work, I would like to replace the unit before the warranty is up.

POST #1 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Scott D is offline Old Post 06-27-2004 01:54 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Scott D Find more posts by Scott D Add Scott D to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Scott D
Senior Member

Registered: Jun 2001
Location: Pasadena, Texas
Posts: 485

Do you have a friend with DVI? Try it there. Another possibility is take it to a store and try it on one of their sets. Ask before you drag it into the store.

POST #2 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

ShiningBengal is offline Old Post 06-28-2004 12:19 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for ShiningBengal Find more posts by ShiningBengal Add ShiningBengal to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
ShiningBengal
Curmudgeon Emeritus

Registered: Mar 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN USA
Posts: 441

Re: Can you test a HDMI output without an HDMI TV?

quote:
Originally posted by m_jraj
I am about to receive my HD Tivo, but only have a component HD TV. If the HDMI does not work, I would like to replace the unit before the warranty is up.


No, you don't need an HDMI on your TV, but you DO need a digital input such as a DVI. If using DVI, you must also run separate analog or digital cables to your TV or AV receiver.

Your HD-TiVo has an HDMI to DVI converter cable for that purpose.

__________________
"Ignore 'em, m'dear. They're beneath your dignity." W.C. Fields

POST #3 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:31 AM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
>>> Can you test a HDMI output without an HDMI TV? <<<

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > HDTV TiVo Powered PVRs
Search The Internet
 
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread

Forum Jump:
 
Search this Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.8
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.
Page generated in 0.04489803 seconds (87.23% PHP - 12.77% MySQL) with 20 queries.


Spider History Index