TiVo Community Forum Archive 1
READ ONLY ARCHIVES

Welcome to the TiVo Community Forum Archive
This archive covers threads on TiVo Community Forum that have not been posted to from the start until June 30, 2004.  Any thread that has a post made to it between 7/1/04 and 12/31/05, that had not been posted to, will be found in Archive 2.
This is a READ ONLY site.

  Search | ARCHIVE 2 | MAIN SITE

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > HDTV TiVo Powered PVRs
>>> Help - Quick Installation Question <<<

 
Forum Jump:
Search this Thread:
Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread ---> Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
omar is offline Old Post 06-27-2004 09:18 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for omar Find more posts by omar Add omar to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
omar
New Member

Registered: May 2004
Location:
Posts: 9

Help - Quick Installation Question

My current setup includes a triple LNB elliptical dish and 4 wires running from it to various rooms. One of those rooms now has a HD DirecTIVO in it (which requires two inputs). The current plan is to install a 5x8 multiswitch at the satellite and run an additional cable from the dish to the room where I have the HD Tivo.

Is there any way to use the existing single cable going to the room in combination with a multiswitch and a diplexer to get two satellite signals without having to run another cable from the dish to the room in question? Thanks.

Regards,

Omar

POST #1 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

pkscout is offline Old Post 06-27-2004 11:46 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for pkscout Find more posts by pkscout Add pkscout to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
pkscout
TiVo Forum Special Member

Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1031

Re: Help - Quick Installation Question

quote:
Originally posted by omar
My current setup includes a triple LNB elliptical dish and 4 wires running from it to various rooms. One of those rooms now has a HD DirecTIVO in it (which requires two inputs). The current plan is to install a 5x8 multiswitch at the satellite and run an additional cable from the dish to the room where I have the HD Tivo.

Is there any way to use the existing single cable going to the room in combination with a multiswitch and a diplexer to get two satellite signals without having to run another cable from the dish to the room in question? Thanks.



Not with a diplexer, no. In order to use a single cable to carrier two satellite signals, you need a stacker/destacker combination. You can do a search for that on this board, but to save you some time I'll say that the general consensus is that it is *far* cheaper to have another cable run than it is to purchase the stacker/destacker equipment.

POST #2 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:23 PM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
>>> Help - Quick Installation Question <<<

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > HDTV TiVo Powered PVRs
Search The Internet
 
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread

Forum Jump:
 
Search this Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.8
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.
Page generated in 0.04112911 seconds (87.42% PHP - 12.58% MySQL) with 20 queries.


Spider History Index