TiVo Community Forum Archive 1
READ ONLY ARCHIVES

Welcome to the TiVo Community Forum Archive
This archive covers threads on TiVo Community Forum that have not been posted to from the start until June 30, 2004.  Any thread that has a post made to it between 7/1/04 and 12/31/05, that had not been posted to, will be found in Archive 2.
This is a READ ONLY site.

  Search | ARCHIVE 2 | MAIN SITE

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
>>> TiVo starts recording before changing channel -- result is X-rated video for children <<<

Pages (13): [1] 2 3 4 Next » ... Last »  
Forum Jump:
Search this Thread:
Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread ---> Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Vectors Random is offline Old Post 12-01-2001 12:52 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Vectors Random Find more posts by Vectors Random Add Vectors Random to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Vectors Random
Member

Registered: Feb 2001
Location:
Posts: 1

Post TiVo starts recording before changing channel -- result is X-rated video for children

Does this happen to everyone?

When set to record a program, TiVo starts recording and then changes the channel. The result is that you get a few seconds of whatever was being shown on the last channel viewed before the change.

Why is this a problem? Before changing to record a program for my child, the TiVo got a few seconds of a program on HBO. Unfortunately, it was a heavy sex scene. Granted it was only a few seconds, but that was long enough to get the full monty.

Does TiVo know about this? Do others experience this?

POST #1 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Blackwolf is offline Old Post 12-01-2001 12:57 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Blackwolf Find more posts by Blackwolf Add Blackwolf to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Blackwolf
Dangeresque!

Registered: May 2001
Location: Alpharetta, GA, USA
Posts: 79

Post

It only happens to me now that I have a Digital Cable box, and it starts recording at the moment it starts the signal to change the channel on the cable box.

However, include that with the 1-second lag to encode it, and you have about 2-3 seconds of whatever channel you were watching before the one you're recording.

It hasn't annoyed me, then again I live alone. I can completely understand your situation and am also wondering if TiVo can possibly pad the start time of recordings by two seconds if it's a Digital Cable box using the IR Blaster.

POST #2 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

MighTiVo is offline Old Post 12-01-2001 01:17 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for MighTiVo Find more posts by MighTiVo Add MighTiVo to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
MighTiVo
TiVotarian

Registered: Oct 2000
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1700

Post

I alway get the previous channel, the channel change, and then the new channel with my stand alone TiVo recording from a IR controlled Dish receiver. I don't think it happened when I had serially connected DirectTV.

Basically the code needs to be changed so that recording starts AFTER a short pause after the last digit is sent via IR. This would accomidate any speed IR.

Also the screen blank routine shouled be recoded so that it doesn't unblank until after the last digit is sent as well. It is worthless as it stands.

POST #3 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

mostman is offline Old Post 12-01-2001 01:25 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for mostman Find more posts by mostman Add mostman to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
mostman
TiVo Forum Special Member

Registered: Jul 2000
Location: Boston
Posts: 134

Post

Yeah this is a MAJOR problem that needs to get fixed. They have the screen blank in place - they just need to keep it blanked. I don't have kids - but I feel your pain. I hope RB reads this thread.
-Mike

------------------
Star Trek - Dark Beer - Linux - TiVo
What the hell else do you need?

POST #4 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

schiavonir is offline Old Post 12-01-2001 01:25 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for schiavonir Find more posts by schiavonir Add schiavonir to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
schiavonir
New Member

Registered: Jul 2000
Location: West Chicago, IL, US
Posts: 22

Post

This happens to me as well, and I have the same fear as what you encountered - that something which doesn't go very well with "Blues Clues" will be recorded before the channel change. This only happens with my TiVo and digital cable setup. My other TiVo which is recording from a direct cable feed does not have this problem.

Here's one suggestion, albeit not a very good one. If you or your TiVo tends to record premium channels overnight, and then kids shows in the morning, how about setting up a 5 minute manual recording at, say 4:30 AM, on some "clean" channel, like PAX or Discovery? That way, you will minimize the chances that your TiVo will be switching from HBO to Nickelodeon. Yes, every day you would have to delete it, but it might be a better trade-off against what happens now.

Roger

POST #5 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

dmaneyapanda is offline Old Post 12-01-2001 01:54 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for dmaneyapanda Find more posts by dmaneyapanda Add dmaneyapanda to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
dmaneyapanda
TiVo Forum Special Member

Registered: Jan 2000
Location: princeton,nj
Posts: 126

Post

the issue is that different boxes take different amounts of time to tune to the proper channel. You're right, TiVo could just extend the amount of time it waits for the cable/sat box to change, but there's a balancing act because this just makes channel surfing that much more unbearable, as each channel change takes that much longer.

It's a fairly intractable problem (imo), but I wouldn't be terribly surprised if the next version tweaks the wait time by another quarter second or so.

dinesh


------------------
DVI/HDCP sucks. DFAST sucks. Boycott JVC.

POST #6 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

martinp13 is offline Old Post 12-01-2001 02:11 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for martinp13 Visit martinp13's homepage! Find more posts by martinp13 Add martinp13 to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
martinp13
Official Texas TIVO

Registered: Mar 2001
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 2486

Post

You could always take HBO out of your list of channels. Your children are more important than seeing HBO, eh?

------------------
&gt; Martin
<FONT size="1">Plain Philips 30 <FONT COLOR="red">T</FONT c><FONT COLOR="green">i</FONT c><FONT COLOR="orange">V</FONT c><FONT COLOR="purple">o</FONT c></FONT s>
Martin's Free-Space Postulate: A clean TiVo is a happy TiVo.

POST #7 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

HTH is offline Old Post 12-01-2001 02:18 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for HTH Visit HTH's homepage! Find more posts by HTH Add HTH to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
HTH
No Avatar Selected

Registered: Aug 2000
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 3582

Post

quote:
Originally posted by dmaneyapanda:
the issue is that different boxes take different amounts of time to tune to the proper channel. You're right, TiVo could just extend the amount of time it waits for the cable/sat box to change, but there's a balancing act because this just makes channel surfing that much more unbearable, as each channel change takes that much longer.


It's more than that. IR control is asynchronous to other systems in the TiVo, and can be delayed further by environmental conditions. (I once had a channel change take 28 minutes to take effect due to IR interference.)

There are two solutions: (1) change the TiVo or (2) change the children. Either only use the internal tuner with a TiVo used by the children (using the cable box only on the parental TiVo), or instill a more disinterested attitude towards nudity in the children.

Okay, there's a third option: get a cable box or satellite receiver that has its own parental controls and use them.

------------------


"[E]ven the unauthorized home time-shifting of... programs is legitimate fair use."
-- Sony Corp. v. Universal City Studios, Inc., 464 U.S. 417 (1984)

[This message has been edited by HTH (edited 11-30-2001).]

POST #8 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

where1 is offline Old Post 12-01-2001 02:24 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for where1 Find more posts by where1 Add where1 to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
where1
TiVo Forum Special Member

Registered: Oct 2000
Location: Fox Valley
Posts: 49

Post

schiavonir has a good idea. If you set up a manual recording and KAM=1, it will delete the previous days recording. I do a 10 minute one every morning to catch the weather channels local weather on the 8s (hardly ever on the 8) in basic.

And yes, this has happened to me, and was discussed awhile back, and I believe RB does know about it.

------------------
Lest we forget 9/11/01
My System
Paul

POST #9 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Joey303 is offline Old Post 12-01-2001 02:53 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Joey303 Find more posts by Joey303 Add Joey303 to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Joey303
Yep, I am!

Registered: May 2001
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 443

Post

Yeah, I love the Manual Recording idea, too. Mine is a 10-minute recording on NBC so that the TiVo buffer is full of the Today show before I awaken in the morning. Better than actually recording the Today show because it's now three hours long. Reminder: set Keep at Most = 1 and it'll never really clutter-up your Now Playing list.

POST #10 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

jmccorm is offline Old Post 12-01-2001 11:23 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for jmccorm Find more posts by jmccorm Add jmccorm to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
jmccorm
Special Forum Guest

Registered: Oct 2000
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 9

Post

Your children may consider this a "feature" and not a bug. Anyone remember the old cable filters that... uh... didn't filter very well?

POST #11 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

nextguard2 is offline Old Post 12-01-2001 11:41 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for nextguard2 Find more posts by nextguard2 Add nextguard2 to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
nextguard2
TiVo Forum Special Member

Registered: Apr 2000
Location:
Posts: 8

Post

Well I actually consider a few seconds of nudity to be a positive addition to just about any program... and dont have any kids.

But I do like to archive things.
I made tape of a few early Christmas specials that come on cable channels my parents don't get.

I used the dump to VCR function.
So my tapes wind up with a short gay sex scene (probably from Queer as Folk or OZ).

My mom thought it was funny (she is very progressive).
My father who is remarried and has a six year old son (my half brother)was not amused. Not at all.

But you know I've got the damn motorola box with terrible latency and channel surfing is already rotten.

So fo me I think the solution is to manually control the start of VCR recording.

------------------
NextGuard = Paul from Atlanta

POST #12 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

CoosCoos is offline Old Post 12-01-2001 11:48 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for CoosCoos Find more posts by CoosCoos Add CoosCoos to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
CoosCoos
.

Registered: Dec 2000
Location:
Posts: 20

Post

We're very well aware of this in our house. One of my son's Buzz Lightyear shows had quite the opening credits.

We have another TiVo that is hooked directly to the cable without a cable box and this doesn't happen -- in that situation the channel change and record starting are simultaneous.

It would be nice if there was a feature in the software, or if it knew automatically that you were using an external cable box, perhaps using the IR speed as a guide, and automatically buffered by a second or two either from knowing you picked 'slow' or 'fast' for the IR code, or as a manually adjusted setting.

But we decided to just use parental controls instead.


------------------
Cous cous is the food.
CoosCoos is your online hero.

POST #13 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

BrettStah is offline Old Post 12-01-2001 11:57 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for BrettStah Find more posts by BrettStah Add BrettStah to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
BrettStah
TiVo Forum Special Member

Registered: Nov 2000
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 3104

Post

Wouldn't it be relatively easy to be able to adjust the amount of the screen blanking, maybe similar to how we can adjust the auto-correction amount? Or add an official option, that users can choose from 1 to 10, with increasing amounts of blanking time...

------------------
Brett
<FONT size="1">
To me, clowns aren't funny. In fact, they're kind of scary. I've wondered where this started and I think it goes back to the time I went to the circus, and a clown killed my dad.
</FONT s>

POST #14 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

dgh is offline Old Post 12-02-2001 12:14 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for dgh Find more posts by dgh Add dgh to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
dgh
TiVo Forum Special Member

Registered: Jul 2000
Location:
Posts: 1902

Post

I think it would have to be an official option with a parental lockout to work.

I think there are probably far more kids who could work around a back door "fix" via rebooting than there are parents who could figure out the back door in the first place


------------------
Dave Hicks
(Just 33 years until I'm allowed to be opinionated too.)

POST #15 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

unoriginal is offline Old Post 12-02-2001 04:54 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for unoriginal Find more posts by unoriginal Add unoriginal to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
unoriginal
$29.95

Registered: Apr 2001
Location: Concord New Hampshire
Posts: 314

Post

quote:
Originally posted by HTH:


(2) change the children. instill a more disinterested attitude towards nudity in the children.




(to add to what HTH said) You could be very open and not try to hide anything. Explain to them the machanics of it all (they may begin to think you are disgusting if you do it this way). They will lose intrest if it is not off limits.

The forbbiden fruit always tastes the best.

------------------
WARNING: Contents will become angry and confused if exposed to intelligent thought.

<FONT size="-2">All words above are not actual sentences but random letters, spaces and the occasional punctuation. I can not be held responsible for the meaning you get from these random letters. I can however be held responsible for the spaces.</FONT s>

POST #16 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Otto is offline Old Post 12-02-2001 05:12 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Otto Find more posts by Otto Add Otto to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Otto

Registered: Mar 2000
Location:
Posts: 1031

Post

The problem is basically unsolvable on a totally correct basis. The Tivo records whatever comes into it, and can't be certain that the channel change occured at all. If you use cable, the only real solution is not to use a cable box. This is a poor solution, of course.

A workaround would be to have a 5 minute KAM=1 recording before the kiddie show starts, so that you know that it won't be on a channel that could have porn on it. If the kiddie show comes on at 6am, have a 5 minute recording at 5:55am on the TV guide channel or some such.


------------------
<FONT size="1">All comments made in this post are my opinion and my opinion alone. Deal with it.
Otto, Zen TiVo Master - Moderator - AVS Tivo Forums - Tivo Underground, Tivo Coffee House
"The way of the portable computer user is as a stony path strewn with plugs and sockets, all the wrong size..." -- Terry Pratchett</FONT s>

POST #17 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

vertigo235 is offline Old Post 12-02-2001 05:39 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for vertigo235 Visit vertigo235's homepage! Find more posts by vertigo235 Add vertigo235 to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
vertigo235
Advanced Member

Registered: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 949

Post

Increasing the screen blank time would be very annoying for those of us who dont have this problem. IMO



------------------
- Jones
Running v2.5.1 on 30hr Philips... Upgraded to 128 hours with 80Gig Maxtor.

POST #18 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

MighTiVo is offline Old Post 12-02-2001 08:05 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for MighTiVo Find more posts by MighTiVo Add MighTiVo to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
MighTiVo
TiVotarian

Registered: Oct 2000
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1700

Post

quote:
Originally posted by dmaneyapanda:
the issue is that different boxes take different amounts of time to tune to the proper channel. You're right, TiVo could just extend the amount of time it waits for the cable/sat box to change, but there's a balancing act because this just makes channel surfing that much more unbearable, as each channel change takes that much longer.

It's a fairly intractable problem (imo), but I wouldn't be terribly surprised if the next version tweaks the wait time by another quarter second or so.
dinesh



you are missing the point, my TiVo starts recording so early that I see the channel numbers appear on the screen one at a time as TiVo sends it. While this is a handy means to see that digits were dropped and that is why the wrong channel was recorded, TiVo should NOT start recording until AFTER it sends the last digit. This would take care of most issues and not cause too long a delay for those that use fast IR or serial connected and would keep so much of the previous show from being recorded when slow IR is used.

POST #19 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

CoosCoos is offline Old Post 12-03-2001 12:13 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for CoosCoos Find more posts by CoosCoos Add CoosCoos to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
CoosCoos
.

Registered: Dec 2000
Location:
Posts: 20

Post

quote:
Originally posted by vertigo235:
Increasing the screen blank time would be very annoying for those of us who dont have this problem. IMO


I don't think anyone's asking that it be done across the board. A user-adjustable setting would be nice, though.

Like I said before, I have two TiVos -- one with a cable box, one without -- and the problem only affects those with cable boxes. But the TiVo knows you have a cable box, because you need to tell it what type, which IR code, and the speed. It should adjust the 'blackout' based on the speed of your IR codes.

------------------
Cous cous is the food.
CoosCoos is your online hero.

POST #20 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:29 PM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Pages (13): [1] 2 3 4 Next » ... Last »   Last Thread   Next Thread
>>> TiVo starts recording before changing channel -- result is X-rated video for children <<<

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
Search The Internet
 
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread

Forum Jump:
 
Search this Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.8
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.
Page generated in 0.07832193 seconds (80.09% PHP - 19.91% MySQL) with 22 queries.


Spider History Index