TiVo Community Forum Archive 1
READ ONLY ARCHIVES

Welcome to the TiVo Community Forum Archive
This archive covers threads on TiVo Community Forum that have not been posted to from the start until June 30, 2004.  Any thread that has a post made to it between 7/1/04 and 12/31/05, that had not been posted to, will be found in Archive 2.
This is a READ ONLY site.

  Search | ARCHIVE 2 | MAIN SITE

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground
>>> GSOD w/127mb Swap on 2x120GB <<<

 
Forum Jump:
Search this Thread:
Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread ---> Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
VernGully is offline Old Post 06-21-2004 07:59 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for VernGully Find more posts by VernGully Add VernGully to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
VernGully
New Member

Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 9

Question Help!!! GSOD w/127mb Swap on S2w/4.0.1b on 240GB

This is a running trial and error, so this may help or repeat others.

I have a TiVo 60hr TCD140060 Standalone (Series2) that was upgraded in Oct 02.

I used 2x120GB WD drives with MFS Tools 2.0. I used -s 127 back then (most likely).

The software is at 4.0.1b. Typically ran 50-52 degrees.

Started stuttering about a week ago. Locked up on a show and rebooted. Went to GSOD. Recovered, used it for about 30 mins, locked up, rebooted, GSOD'd, looped after about 7 mins.

OK, I read though the posts and verified this:

Hard drives:
Ran Western Digital Diags (DLGDIAG5.exe), both A and B drives passed all tests.
pdisk -l (MFS Tools 2.0 CD) on A drive shows:
...
8: Swap Linux swap 260096 @ 115788865 (127.0M)
...
A Drive "thunks" on initial power, but sounds normal the rest of the time.

This is what I have done so far to KEEP recordings:
Erased all the extra shows I have (while it was running), and got it down to approx 40hrs (I felt I needed to do that)
Replaced drive with original 60GB drive, no problems there.
Bought a 160GB drive.

I am going to assume, by chance/luck/intuition that my A drive might be failing.
So I am currently dd'ing the A drive to a new 160GB drive.

Does my pdisk look right? If so, is there any way to reinitialize the 127Mb swap (to take that out of the equation) with the MFS Tools 2.0? maybe mkswap it to be sure?

Is there a way to make sure that the 127Mb swap is working/being used without backdoors ( b/c of 4.0.1b) with the MFS Tools 2.0 or something? maybe in the /proc/meminfo file, how do I view that?

Last edited by VernGully on 06-21-2004 at 09:29 AM

POST #1 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Robert S is offline Old Post 06-22-2004 03:29 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Robert S Find more posts by Robert S Add Robert S to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Robert S
TiVo Forum Special Member

Registered: Jul 2002
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Posts: 9266

mount /dev/hdX4 /mnt

(or hdX7, if that's your active root partition).

grep swap /mnt/var/log/kernel

I don't think there's any reason to think that the reboot is due to lack of memory. It's more likely that the GSOD is rebooting on a bad block or something.

Deleting unwanted shows is an entirely meaningless act in this context.

Try running diagnostics on the disks. If diagnostics can fix some bad blocks, that might allow the GSOD to complete.

__________________
Please do not PM me asking for TiVo backups. I don't have any.

POST #2 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

VernGully is offline Old Post 06-22-2004 07:11 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for VernGully Find more posts by VernGully Add VernGully to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
VernGully
New Member

Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 9

The dd of 120GB A to the 160GB drive took 18 HOURS!

I was unable to initialize or verify my swap partition.

The /var/log did not exist on either the hdX4 or hdX7 (active root?).

I plugged in the new 160GB A (without marrying or expanding) with the 120GB B into my tivo to test. It powered up without a GSOD, and is performing normally. Temp at 51C. I'm going to let it run though a few shows and see if it GSOD's.

POST #3 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:29 AM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
>>> GSOD w/127mb Swap on 2x120GB <<<

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground
Search The Internet
 
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread

Forum Jump:
 
Search this Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.8
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.
Page generated in 0.04579496 seconds (86.08% PHP - 13.92% MySQL) with 21 queries.


Spider History Index