TiVo Community Forum Archive 1
READ ONLY ARCHIVES

Welcome to the TiVo Community Forum Archive
This archive covers threads on TiVo Community Forum that have not been posted to from the start until June 30, 2004.  Any thread that has a post made to it between 7/1/04 and 12/31/05, that had not been posted to, will be found in Archive 2.
This is a READ ONLY site.

  Search | ARCHIVE 2 | MAIN SITE

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground
>>> I connected my tivo to my home network and... <<<

 
Forum Jump:
Search this Thread:
Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread ---> Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
Gekko is offline Old Post 06-22-2004 05:14 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Gekko Find more posts by Gekko Add Gekko to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Gekko
New Member

Registered: Jun 2004
Location:
Posts: 6

I connected my tivo to my home network and...

I connected my tivo to my home network and would like to access the files on the Tivo from my home PC for storage. Is it possible to move files from PC to tivo and vice versa over the network? The tivo works on the network to download updates and scheduling, but I don't see it in My Network Places from my PC. Is there a workgroup name or am I just trying to do something that isn't yet available?

Last edited by Gekko on 06-22-2004 at 05:43 AM

POST #1 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

mike0151 is offline Old Post 06-22-2004 05:34 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for mike0151 Visit mike0151's homepage! Find more posts by mike0151 Add mike0151 to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
mike0151
A Friend of Dot

Registered: Dec 2001
Location: Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Posts: 418

You are asking about something that cannot be discussed on this forum.

Try doing a google search, look for the "other place", the database of deals.

__________________
6020 since Feb 2001, 2 x 80Gb, Sky Digital, TurboNet and TiVoWeb
6022 since Feb 2003, 120Gb, Pace DTR730, TurboNet and TiVoWeb;

POST #2 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

maharg18 is offline Old Post 06-22-2004 05:56 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for maharg18 Find more posts by maharg18 Add maharg18 to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
maharg18
TiVo Forum Special Member

Registered: Dec 2002
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 2549

And to add to what mike said, it's not NEARLY as easy as pulling it up in network neighborhood.. It requires a decent amount of work to be done software-wise to the Tivo.

__________________
-Maharg18

HR10-250 HD Directivo
DSR704 SD Directivo

POST #3 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Gekko is offline Old Post 06-22-2004 08:51 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Gekko Find more posts by Gekko Add Gekko to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Gekko
New Member

Registered: Jun 2004
Location:
Posts: 6

Does that mean it is possible to get my tivo to share files with my pc? What steps are needed to do this? Is the only benefit of connecting my Tivo to my home network so that the Tivo doesn't have to use my phone line to dial in for updated program listings?

POST #4 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

David Platt is offline Old Post 06-22-2004 08:54 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for David Platt Find more posts by David Platt Add David Platt to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
David Platt
Circa 1974

Registered: Dec 2001
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 3150

To repeat mike0151:

quote:
Originally posted by mike0151
You are asking about something that cannot be discussed on this forum.

__________________
-David

POST #5 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

ThreeSoFar is offline Old Post 06-22-2004 08:55 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for ThreeSoFar Find more posts by ThreeSoFar Add ThreeSoFar to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
ThreeSoFar
FourNowActually

Registered: May 2002
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 2708

Or, you're asking for TiVo2Go, which is not yet released.

But will be soon.

__________________
I think ThreeSoFar's advice is by far the best...gregpr

Four TiVos now, all with single Samsung drives:
Humax DRT800 w/DVD-R (174hrs)
Two older Series 2's (142hrs and 157hrs),and a newer nightlight
Series 2, a stupid case design IMO (174hrs)
All but the last are lifetimed. TiVite since 2000. There is a Good IR solution.

Got Vonage 4/9/03--need a referral credit?

POST #6 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Gekko is offline Old Post 06-22-2004 09:02 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Gekko Find more posts by Gekko Add Gekko to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Gekko
New Member

Registered: Jun 2004
Location:
Posts: 6

Please quote the part of my original post that isn't allowed on the forums. I'm not sure what part that is, but am happy to conform once I have an understanding.

POST #7 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

TivoGeezer is offline Old Post 06-22-2004 09:15 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for TivoGeezer Visit TivoGeezer's homepage! Find more posts by TivoGeezer Add TivoGeezer to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
TivoGeezer
Happy Geezer Year!

Registered: Dec 2003
Location: Danbury, CT
Posts: 2568

Please read the description of this forum on the main page and you will see exactly what you cannot discuss. And we are not talking about theft of service or hacks to remove ads.

__________________
Geoff

One person's "quality TV" is another's "there's nothing on".

PM me your current email address for a Gmail invite.
Happy Tivo Owner since October, 2000
"I'm a sig-fodder whore." - scottjf8
"I'm a lazy asshat!" - montag
"For a small fee- I will be your own personal snipe" - scubagal
Don't be misled
Please don't ask about FSI or dual tuner SA TiVo!

POST #8 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

Gekko is offline Old Post 06-22-2004 09:26 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for Gekko Find more posts by Gekko Add Gekko to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
Gekko
New Member

Registered: Jun 2004
Location:
Posts: 6

it says: "NOTE...No talk of any type of service theft or video extraction is allowed. This also includes hacks that remove ads from TiVo software."

I guess you're refering to "video extraction"?
What's the difference in saving the files on hd in my computer or adding another hd into my tivo (which isn't and option for my toshiba DVD/tivo yet)? Both accomplish the same result.

I'm just trying to figure a way to get more storage until a way to add a hd to my tivo has been figured.

Thanks for input guys. The tivo2go sounds like it is exactly what I'm looking for. I recently purchased my tivo and am new to this, but I'm sure I'll enjoy the challenge of getting upgraded.

POST #9 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

ThreeSoFar is offline Old Post 06-22-2004 09:52 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for ThreeSoFar Find more posts by ThreeSoFar Add ThreeSoFar to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
ThreeSoFar
FourNowActually

Registered: May 2002
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 2708

One extracts the other doesn't.

__________________
I think ThreeSoFar's advice is by far the best...gregpr

Four TiVos now, all with single Samsung drives:
Humax DRT800 w/DVD-R (174hrs)
Two older Series 2's (142hrs and 157hrs),and a newer nightlight
Series 2, a stupid case design IMO (174hrs)
All but the last are lifetimed. TiVite since 2000. There is a Good IR solution.

Got Vonage 4/9/03--need a referral credit?

POST #10 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

jafa is offline Old Post 06-22-2004 08:56 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for jafa Visit jafa's homepage! Find more posts by jafa Add jafa to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
jafa
TiVo Forum Special Member

Registered: Jan 2002
Location:
Posts: 2223

If I understand correctly, you are considering using your tivo as a file server?

It is possible to use it as an ftp server but you would need to make a large ext2 partition to use and that reserved space could not be used by the tivo.

Nick

__________________
Silicondust - Tivo CacheCARD/Turbonet/Airnet
Roomba Robotics - Roomba Community

POST #11 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

classicsat is offline Old Post 06-23-2004 12:09 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for classicsat Find more posts by classicsat Add classicsat to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
classicsat
Astute User

Registered: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 2490

You can discuss transferrinf vilses to/from your Tivo. You cannot discuss exraction/insertion of video to/from the MFS partirions.

__________________
Tivo is Sony SVR2000, 80 GB HDD.
----
Why do you keep rewinding that? Because with TiVo, I can.

POST #12 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:54 AM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
>>> I connected my tivo to my home network and... <<<

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground
Search The Internet
 
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread

Forum Jump:
 
Search this Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.8
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.
Page generated in 0.05548000 seconds (93.30% PHP - 6.70% MySQL) with 20 queries.


Spider History Index