TiVo Community Forum Archive 1
READ ONLY ARCHIVES

Welcome to the TiVo Community Forum Archive
This archive covers threads on TiVo Community Forum that have not been posted to from the start until June 30, 2004.  Any thread that has a post made to it between 7/1/04 and 12/31/05, that had not been posted to, will be found in Archive 2.
This is a READ ONLY site.

  Search | ARCHIVE 2 | MAIN SITE

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
>>> Dish and cable w/o box <<<

 
Forum Jump:
Search this Thread:
Last Thread   Next Thread
Author
Thread ---> Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread Post New Thread    Post A Reply
lisal456 is offline Old Post 06-29-2004 10:48 AM
Click Here to See the Profile for lisal456 Find more posts by lisal456 Add lisal456 to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
lisal456
New Member

Registered: Jun 2004
Location:
Posts: 2

Angry Dish and cable w/o box

I just hooked up Dish satellite and cable without a box (to receive my local channels). The satellite receiver uses IR to change channels. That is working beautifully. But when Tivo changes channels to record my local stations and Dish is powered on, the recording is all static.

How do I set this up so I can have the Dish on (so it will change channels and tape off of it) and still record local channels on cable? Lisa

POST #1 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

JPriller is offline Old Post 06-29-2004 05:56 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for JPriller Find more posts by JPriller Add JPriller to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
JPriller
just some guy

Registered: Nov 2001
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 5232

How is the Dish receiver connected to the TiVo? I'm assuming you have your no-box analog cable on the TiVo's coax input and the satellite receiver on the A/V (red, white, yellow) inputs?

When you ran Guided Setup on the TiVo did you select "cable and satellite" as your programming source? You can check that in your "Channels I Receive" menu under setup/preferences, the cable channels should be labeled "(cab)" and the channels from the satellite receiver labeled "(sat)". Make sure the channels in the list are correctly enabled/disabled (checked or un-checked).

__________________
WWJKD - what would Jim Kirk do?

Last edited by JPriller on 06-29-2004 at 06:04 PM

POST #2 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

lisal456 is offline Old Post 06-29-2004 06:15 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for lisal456 Find more posts by lisal456 Add lisal456 to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
lisal456
New Member

Registered: Jun 2004
Location:
Posts: 2

Yes to all of the above.

POST #3 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

JPriller is offline Old Post 06-29-2004 06:27 PM
Click Here to See the Profile for JPriller Find more posts by JPriller Add JPriller to your buddy list Show Printable Version Edit/Delete Message Reply w/Quote
JPriller
just some guy

Registered: Nov 2001
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 5232

What happens in "Live TV" on the TiVo if you tune it to a local cable channel using the TiVo remote? Is it staticy until you turn the satellite receiver off?

If so, then the satellite receiver is doing something to your cable signal. Do you happen to have the cable signal split, and one side going to the antennea input on the satellite receiver maybe? I'd guess it's that or a wiring-up mistake somewhere. Does the analog cable signal go directly from the wall to the coax input on the TiVo, or are splitters/other devices involved in-between?

__________________
WWJKD - what would Jim Kirk do?

POST #4 | Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:25 AM. Post New Thread    Post A Reply
  Last Thread   Next Thread
>>> Dish and cable w/o box <<<

TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 : Powered by vBulletin version 2.2.8 TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
Search The Internet
 
Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this thread

Forum Jump:
 
Search this Thread:

Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
 

< Contact Us - TiVo Community Forum Archive 1 >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.2.8
Copyright ©2000, 2001, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.
Page generated in 0.04321694 seconds (89.11% PHP - 10.89% MySQL) with 20 queries.


Spider History Index